19 Jan 2022

St. Pat’s go through after extra-time

St. Patrick’s Athletic . . . . . . 2 Longford Town . . . . . . . . . . . 0

St. Patrick’s Athletic . . . . . . 2 Longford Town . . . . . . . . . . . 0

Deniese O’Flaherty 
reporting from 
Richmond Park

Longford Town bowed out of the Leinster Senior Cup on Tuesday evening of last week as Premier Division pacesetters St. Patrick’s Athletic eventually came out on top after extra-time in the quarter-final clash at Richmond Park.

A combination of poor finishing from St. Pat’s allied to good goalkeeping and resolute defending from Longford left the game scoreless at the end of normal time.

Longford had chances but really missed the threat of leading goalscorer David O’Sullivan who remained on the bench. The home side eventually began to dominate with Jake Kelly and Marco Chindea (twice) forcing Longford keeper Paul Hunt into making good saves. Eight minutes into the second half Kelly had a glorious chance but his free-kick just went inches wide. But Longford should have broken the deadlock in the 62nd minute when David O’Neill blasted his effort wide when it was easier to score.

St. Pat’s finally opened the scoring six minutes into extra-time when Sean Gannon’s cross was headed home by Anto Flood.

Longford had a great chance to draw level in the 108th minute but Daniel Purdy’s stinging shot was saved by Dave Ryan. One minute later St. Pat’s doubled their advantage; Jordan Keegan’s effort came off the post but Conan Byrne was on hand to tap home the rebound to settle the issue.

ST. PATRICK’S ATHLETIC: Dave Ryan; Sean Gannon, Aidan Price, Sean Hoare, Jake Carroll; Stephen Maher, Jake Kelly, Jordan Keegan, Marco Chindea; Conor Murphy, Anto Flood.

Subs:- Chris Forrester for C Murphy (79 mins); Conan Byrne for M Chindea (84 mins); Conor Kenna for S Maher (119 mins).

LONGFORD TOWN: Paul Hunt; Corie Tracey, Willo McDonagh, Brian McCarthy, Keith Quinn; David O’Neill, Keith Gillespie, Mark Salmon, Michael Isichei; Gary Shaw, Josh O’Hanlon.

Subs:- Daniel Purdy for G Shaw (half-time), Aaron Brilly for M Salmon (50 mins), Gavin Doyle for C Tracy (83 mins).

Referee: Rob Harvey 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.