05 Dec 2021

Longford Town no match for Millwall

Longford Town . . . . . 1 Millwall . . . . . 4

Longford Town . . . . . 1 Millwall . . . . . 4

A couple of first half goals from Shaun Batt set Millwall on their way to a comfortable victory over Longford Town in a friendly at Flancare Park on Wednesday night. Town manager Tony Cousins availed of the opportunity to utilise the members of his squad and also keep an eye over a few trialists.

Millwall started the game the better and Batt had a chance in the 13th minute but his shot was deflected out for a corner. The visitors broke the deadlock in the 23rd minute after Longford goalkeeper Paul Hunt came out of the goals and completely fluffed his clearance and Batt got on the ball to score into an empty net.

12 minutes later and the visitors doubled their advantage with Batt grabbing his second goal. Andy Keogh got in a cross with Chris Taylor getting a slight touch and the ball broke to Batt who fired home from close range.

After being totally outplayed in the first half, the Town had their first effort two minutes from the break but Tony Griffiths shot from about 25 yards out didn’t trouble Millwall keeper Maik Taylor. One minute later and Gary Shaw should have done better but he directed his header wide.

Five minutes into the second half Andy Keogh forced a save out of Longford keeper Hunt as Millwall went in search of more goals. Ten minutes later Hunt saved from Therry Racon and against the run of play the Town pulled a goal back in the 68th minute through Darragh Reynor.

Millwall got their third goal 10 minutes from time when Hunt saved from Jake Goodman but the loose ball was finished to the net by Aiden O’Brien. Three minutes later John Marquis made it 4-1 and the game ended in a comfortable win for the Londoners on their second visit to Longford.

LONGFORD TOWN: Paul Hunt; Noel Haverty, Willo McDonagh, Des Hope, Thomas Crawley; Jamie Duffy, Colm James, Mark Salmon, Daniel Purdy; Tony Griffiths, Gary Shaw.

Subs used: - Niall O’Reilly, Chris Deans, Yanis Vaitkus, Gary Cronin, Craig Walsh, James O’Brien, Alan Kirby, Darragh Reynor, Karl Bermingham, Shane Dolan, Dean Cosgrave.

MILLWALL: Maik Taylor; Alan Dunne, Jack Smith, Shane Lowry, Scott Malone; Liam Feeney, Chris Taylor, Josh Wright, Therry Racon; Andy Keogh, Shaun Batt.

Subs used:- David Forde, John Marquis, Aiden O’Brien, Darren Ward, Karleigh Osbourne, Conor Wilkinson, Jake Goodman, Jack Sammuts.

Referee: Alan Mullally.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.