24 Sept 2022

Former Longford Rugby Club player Shane Mallon in the Ireland squad for the Six Nations U-20 Championship

Great honour for the Bornacoola native

longford rugby club

Bornacoola's Shane Mallon, who started his rugby career with Longford RFC, pictured scoring for the Leinster U-18's

The former Longford Rugby Club and current UCD player Shane Mallon has been named in the 31-strong Ireland squad, sponsored by PwC, for the campaign that gets underway on Friday week, February 4, in Musgrave Park against Wales.

The son of Peter and Mary in Bornacoola, Shane featured for both the Leitrim minor footballers and hurlers before concentrating on rugby while his brother Cian currently lines out with Bornacoola footballers and the Carrick and Leitrim hurlers. His uncle Kevin Mallon is also a well known referee in the county.

Ulster back row Reuben Crothers has been appointed captain ahead of Ireland’s opening fixture against Wales at Musgrave Park on Friday, 4 February (Kick-off 8pm, live on RTÉ).

Speaking to, Head Coach Richie Murphy said “We have been working hard for a number of weeks and it’s an exciting time for these young players, who have the honour of representing the wider group in the Six Nations.

“It has been a challenging year but the players have come in, worked hard and bonded well, and I have been impressed by their work-rate, commitment and application. Now our focus turns to performance and next Friday’s opening game against Wales, which we know will be a big challenge first up.”

Ireland kick off the Six Nations against Wales on Friday week, before travelling to France in Round 2 on Friday, 11 February.

Murphy’s side will then go head-to-head with Italy on Friday, 25 February at Musgrave Park, before concluding the Championship away in England on Saturday, 12 March and at home to Scotland in Cork on Sunday, 2o March.

The Ireland Squad for the 2022 U-20 Six Nations is as follows:

Forwards (17):

Oisin Michel (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Josh Hanlon (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
Adam McNamee (Malone RFC/Ulster)
Conor Moloney (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
John Glasgow (City of Armagh RFC/Ulster)
Mark Morrissey (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)(Captain)
James Culhane (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Rory McGuire (UCD/Leinster)
James McCormick (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Darragh McSweeney (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Jack Boyle (UCD/Leinster)
James McNabney (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
Scott Wilson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
Jack O’Sullivan (UCC RFC/Munster)
Ronan O’Sullivan (Highfield RFC/Munster)

Backs (14):

Matthew Devine (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
Charlie Tector (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Aitzol King (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
Ben Brownlee (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Fionn Gibbons  (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Patrick Campbell (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
Daniel Hawkshaw (Belvedere College/Leinster)
Ethan Coughlan (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Chay Mullins (Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby)
Tony Butler (Garryowen FC/Munster)
Dylan O’Grady (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Daniel Squires (UCC RFC/Munster)
Adam Maher (Rockwell College/Munster)
Shane Mallon (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Ireland U-20 Fixtures:

Ireland v Wales, Friday 4 February, Musgrave Park, 8pm (RTÉ)
France v Ireland, Friday 11 February, Stade Maurice David, 8pm (Virgin Media)
Ireland v Italy, Friday 25 February, Musgrave Park, 8pm (Virgin Media)
England v Ireland, Saturday 12 March, StoneX Stadium, 7.15pm (RTÉ)
Ireland v Scotland, Sunday 20 March, Musgrave Park, 5pm (Virgin Media).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.