Ten counties represented on Sigerson Cup Team of the Year

Ten counties represented in Sigerson Cup Team of the Year

David Garland has been named the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Player of the Year for 2020 after starring for DCU in their run to Sigerson Cup glory.

The DCU DÉ forward is also joined by five of his teammates on the Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars 2020 Football Team of the Year, while ten counties in total are represented on the team.

Garland was outstanding throughout DCU DÉ’s journey to Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup glory in 2020. The Monaghan forward scored a total of 1-14 across all games, finishing off with four magnificent points from play and a man of the match performance as he led DCU DÉ to victory in this year’s final over IT Carlow.

The country’s top footballing talent was on display during this year’s Higher Education Football season with DCU DÉ claiming their fifth Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup crown while Cork Institute of Technology gained promotion from the Electric Ireland Trench Cup following their victory in the final over Mary Immaculate College.

In this year’s Football Team of the Year, Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Champions, DCU DÉ lead the way with six Rising Stars while beaten finalists IT Carlow have four representatives on the team. Letterkenny Institute of Technology, who reached the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Semi-Final for the first time, and UCD have two representatives each. There is also one representative from Electric Ireland Trench Cup Champions, CIT.   


Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars 2020 Football Team of the Year

Evan Comerford - DCU DÉ, Ballymun Kickhams, Dublin
Brendan McCole - DCU DÉ, Naomh Naille, Donegal
Mike Breen - UCD, Beaufort, Kerry
Niall Hughes - IT Carlow, Kilanerin - Ballyfad, Wexford
Ray Connellan - UCD, Athlone, Westmeath
Jordan Morrissey - DCU DÉ, Éire Óg, Carlow
Trevor Collins - IT Carlow, Graiguecullen, Laois
Shane Carthy - DCU DÉ, Naomh Mearnóg, Dublin
Michael Langan - LYIT, Naomh Mícheál, Donegal
Padraig O’Toole - IT Carlow, Kiltegan, Wicklow
Mícheál Bannigan - DCU DÉ, Aughnamullen, Monaghan
Peadar Morgan - LYIT, Naomh Naille, Donegal
David Garland - DCU DÉ, Donaghmoyne Fotenoys, Monaghan
Gavin O’Brien - CIT, Kerins O’Rahillys, Kerry
Cian Farrell - IT Carlow, Edenderry, Offaly

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.