26 Jun 2022




Yesterday, Tuesday, seventeen boys and twenty girls from St Sinneach’s National School in Colehill were confirmed by Bishop of Ardagh and Clonmacnois, Francis Duffy. The lovely ceremony was attended also by family and friends of the young boys and girls. Following the ceremony all made their way to the local parish hall where refreshments were served and everyone got the chance to meet and talk with Bishop Duffy. The following were the Confirmation class of 2014 - Sean Byrne, Eoghan McCormack, Ciaran McDonnell, Patrick Murray, Adam Quinn, James Reilly, Jason Teague, Cian Tighe, Adam Carberry, Conor Ferry, Tony Flynn, Diarmuid Kelly, Oisin Lane, James McCormack, Mark McCormack, Sean McCormack, Marc McGrath, Mary Cahill, Edel Clabby, Chloe Dalton, Niamh Dempsey, Alison Dennehy, Hazel Farrell, Grace Keegan, Aoife McCormack, Ali O’Connor, Alma Quinlan, Kate Breslin, Juliette Byrne, Grace Esler, Lily Fitzmaurice, Ella Frawley, Ciara Higgins, Eve Hilliard, Stacey Kearns, Nicola Keenan and Isobel Flynn. Congratulations to all.


The Ardagh and Clommacnois Diocesan pilgrimage to Lourdes will take place this year from the 27th May to the 1st June. The cost is €699. For more information or to book a place on the pilgrimage contact 012410812 or 012410811.


The Carrickedmond parish finance group will meet on Tuesday night, the 27th May at 8pm in the parish house. All members please attend.

Local Elections

Friday next, the 23rd May is “D” day for all election hopefuls throughout the county and country as voting takes place in the various polling stations. Best of luck to all candidates in the Ballymahon electoral area and to local outgoing Councillor, Michael Cahill, Colehill who is seeking a third term on the council, having already served the Ballymahon electoral area for the past ten years. Locals are reminded that the polling stations for the Carrickedmond/Abbeyshrule areas will be in St Sinneach’s NS, Colehill. The polling station will open for voting at 7am and close at 10pm. Voting this time will not take place in the GAA Complex, Carrickedmond. People who have voted in the Complex in the past will now vote in St Sinneach’s NS, Colehill and in Moydow.

Credit Union Scholarship

Details of the annual Ballymahon and District Credit Union scholarship for Leaving certificate students were recently announced. This scholarship is open to leaving certificate students attending the Vocational school and Mercy Secondary schools in Ballymahon. All students who wish to enter the draw must be a member of the Credit Union on or before the 31st May 2014. Applicants must be commencing a FAS Apprenticeship or a full time certificate diploma or degree course at any university, IT or approved third level college. The scholarship will be paid at a rate of €1000 per annum for a maximum of three years. Further details are available from the Credit Union office in Ballymahon.


To Paul Yorke, son of Tom and Annette Yorke, Toome who was recently conferred with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Economics and Sociology at the University of Limerick. Best of luck to Paul in the future.

First Holy Communion

For pupils from Colehill NS will take place in Carrickedmond Church on Saturday, 31st May at 11am.

Senior Citizens Gathering

Will take place in St Sinneach’s Hall, Carrickedmond on Wednesday, the 11th June at 3pm. More information nearer the date.

Pastoral Council

Meeting will take place in the Parish House, Carrickedmond on Monday night, the 26th May at 8pm. All members are asked to attend.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.