Minor Victory

Minor Victory

Following a 15-a-side Minor Championship game in which the final outcome was hardly ever in doubt from the early stages at Aughnasheelin on Wednesday last St. Brigid’s prevailed with a decisive 5-14 to 1-5 victory over Glencar Manorhamilton. The St. Brigid’s lineout was as follows: Darragh McNiff, Donal McCabe, Pierce Dolan, Ryan Cull, Philip Dolan, Rory McTague, Jack McGirl, Mark Plunkett (1-2), Conor Cullen (0-1), Ciaran O Haire, Conor Gaffney (3-6), Fintan Fitzpatrick (0-1), Dylan Mimna (0-3), Kevin McWeeney (0-1), Ronan Maxwell and Patrick Sammon (1-0).

Bingo winners

The following were among the winners at last Friday night’s Bingo session in Drumreilly Community Centre: Michelle McCabe, Corrawallen,

Brigid Smith, Mahana, Mickey Flanagan, Drumarigna, Geraldine Prior, Ballinamore, Mary O’Rourke, Corlough, Eileen Prior, Peggy Flynn,

Keshcarrigan, Vinnie McBrien, Camber, Christina Murray, Killaneen, Pat Flynn, Keshcarrigan, Jimmy Mulligan, Mount Ida, Kathleen Gray, Mary

McBrien, Aughalough, Rosemary Kilkenny, Bundarragh, Betty Taylor, Clonboyher, Marie Mulligan, Mount Ida, Mary Gaffney, Corrala, Margaret

Galligan, Killeshandra, Cassie Dolan, Calloughs, Geraldine Prior, Drumraine, Ita Sutherland, Toome, Tony Galligan, Killeshandra, Eileen

Wrynn, Tarmon, Lily Curran, Ballinamore, Alice Shields, Ballinamore and Lorna McKernan, Kilmore. Bingo will continue on next Friday August

16th at 9.00 p.m. As ever, the Committee members thank you for your support.

Well done Evan

The week past has indeed been a very busy and exciting period for local athlete Evan O’Connor. The versatile Evan is a valued midfielder on the St. Brigid’s U-14 Gaelic football team in addition to playing with two other Leitrim lads, Oisín McLoughlin, Fenagh and Jordan Reynolds, Mohill for Longford soccer team. The Longford eleven were beaten in the final of the Macrom Galway Cup on Saturday last. On Thursday they had played two games, registering a 2-0 victory over Salthill Devon B team and also beating Kildare by 3-1 to reach a semi final on Friday against West Waterford/East Cork. A 1-0 victory over the southern team took them to the final against Castlebar Celtic on Saturday. A 1-1 draw was the result at the final whistle, the Longford

goal a headed effort by the Corrawallen hero. A penalty shoot-out resulted in a 2-1 victory for Castlebar. There was consolation however for Evan, when his goal in the final was adjudged Goal of the Tournament, winning for him a plaque, voted by the Longford management and players.

Lotto results

The following are the results from the Lotto Draw on Wednesday July 31st: The numbers drawn were 10, 16, 25 and 27. The winners of €20 each were Reece Reddan 086-3206238, Ciaran Holahan, Drumlea, Gerard McGovern, Corlough, Shane Maguire, Ballymac, Mary Fee Mullaghboy, Liam & Shane McGirl, Drumdiffer and Mattie Fee Clonboyher. The next draw will be held on 14th of August in the Ballymac, Jackpot €11,800


All roads lead to Drumreilly Community Centre on Thursday night August 29th when “The Quareland” a hilarious comedy starring Seamus Rourke will go on stage. The curtain will rise at 8.30 p.m. Tickets can be got by contacting Dermot McCartin at 087-71701651, Tommy Connolly at 087-1342672 or any Drumreilly G.A.A. Committee member.

New arrival

Heartiest congratulations go to Adrian and Louise McGirl, Drumdiffer on the birth of their baby girl Ellen Rose, the happy event bringing

joy also to grand-father Peter and other members of the McGirl family.

U-14 game

Having surrendered an interval lead of 3-1 to 1-5 in their U-14 Championship game against Mohill at the latter’s grounds on Friday last, St. Brigid’s emerged on the wrong side of a 3-15 to 4-3 scoreline at the final whistle. The St. Brigid’s panel was as follows: Richard Fitzpatrick, Mark Stringer, Cormac Sammon, Manus Connolly, Darragh Maxwell, Ciaran Cullen, Michael O Haire, Peter Prior, Dylan Maguire, Stephen Meissner, Niall Stringer (0-1), Ben McGirl, Conor McGovern (1-2), Aaron Hoare (1-00, Ronan McTague (2-0). Subs: Brian Stringer, Seán Prior, Michael McTague, Yann Le Guen, Lewis Meekin, and the two subs used Hughie Maguire, and Fergal Murray.

Recalling August 1992

Wedding bells rang in St. Mary’s Church, Drumlea for Noel Heron and Anna Marie Maguire. Kathleen McGovern, Kilmore was adjudged Ballinamore Festival Queen 1982. St. Mary’s Youth band won the Drumshanbo Mart Perpetual Trophy for being the best dressed band in the Ballinaglera Festival, and came third at the Ballinagh Festival. Drumreilly seniors dropped two League points in their League game against Seán O Heslin’s in Ballinamore. Athletes Bríd, Tony and Anne Lunney, Declan and Evonne Maxwell were among the winners of medals at Ballyconnell Sports and Mary and John McKeon and Jennifer and Linda Reilly won medals at Ballinamore Road Races. Francis Holahan (Boys U-8 60 m.), Bríd Lunney (Girls U-10 200 m.) and Mary McKeon (Girls U-10 100 m.) had booked dates at the Community Games finals in Mosney.

Diocesan changes

Among the Diocesan changes recently made by Bishop of Kilmore Dr. Leo O’Reilly are the following: Drumcoura –born Fr. John Quinn P. P. Glenfarne has retired to become Parochial Administrator of Glenfarne. Former Parish priest of Carrigallen –Drumreilly Fr. Charles Heerey P.P. V. F. retires as P.P. of Ballinamore and in addition to being C.C. of Belturbet will assist in the Annalee Pastoral area. Former Drumreilly C.C. Fr. John McMahon C.C. Manorhamilton has been appointed as P.P. Knockbride. Go neirí go geal leo.