Pretty Wedding

Pretty Wedding

The wedding took place in St. Mary’s Church, Rantogue on Saturday last,

October 18th of Mr. Ciaran Holahan, son of Ciaran and Mary Rose Holahan, Drumlea and Miss Martina McKeon, daughter of Brian and Mary McKeon, Rantogue. The Nuptial Mass was concelebrated by Fr. Thomas Flynn, Kiltubrid, Fr. Denis Murray, Carrigallen-Drumreilly and Fr. John Sexton, Manorhamilton. The bride, who was given away by her father, Brian was attended by bridesmaids Michelle Holahan, Linda Gill and Séana Galligan Holahan. The Bestman was Adrian Holahan and the Groomsman was Damian Holahan. Grace McKeon was the Flower Girl. The Offertory Gifts were borne by parents Mary McKeon and Mary Rose Holahan. The Sacred Scripture Readings were taken by Anthony Holahan, Caroline McKeon and Imelda McGovern, and the Prayers of the faithful were recited by Niamh McNulty, Séana Galligan Holahan, Ciara Holahan and Callum McKeon. Church Music and Vocals were contributed by Sinéad Egan. The reception afterwards was held in The Errigal Hotel, Cootehill, Co. Cavan The large crowd of guests disported themselves at a rousing social which followed the meal. We wish Ciaran and Martina many years of wedded bliss.

Winners at Bingo

The following were among the winners on last Friday night, October 17th

in Drumreilly Community Centre: Anne Whitlow, Lismacniff, Pat Dowling, Mary McGovern, Cattan, Betty Taylor, Clonboyher, Bridie McBrien, Camber, Pauline Darcy, Aughawillan, Alice Shields, Ballinamore, Geraldine Prior, Bernadette Dooner, Ballinamore, Mary Canning, Drumshanbo North, Anthony McCartin, Ballinamore, Michael Brady, Ballinamore, Molly Prior, Lisacarn, Michael McGovern, Crossdrummon, Debbie Keaney, Aughacashel, Mary O Rourke, Corlough, Tomás Tierney, Carrigallen, Margaret Honeyman, Tullyoscar, Catherine Rooney, Aughnasheelin, Margaret Sweeney and Nan Connolly, Ardunsaghan. The Committee members wish to thank you for your continued support. Bingo will continue on this Friday night October 24th at 9p.m.

Shoebox Appeal

Those who will be participating in Shoebox Appeal are asked to bring their parcels to Drumreilly Community Centre between 8.30 p.m. On Wednesday, November 5th or before or after Mass time on Saturday, November 8th.

Active Age Snippets

Thre was an attendance of eighteen at the weekly meeting of Drumreilly Active Age Group on last Wednesday October 15th. Vice-Chairperson Tess Gallogly presided. Among the items dealt with from a long agenda were the following: attendance of five members at Arts Day in Ck on Shannon, an invitation from the pupils of Drumeela N.S, to attend a Social in the school, where the Leitrim Equation Four will be among the performers on a date to be arranged, preparations for and invitations to all in search of an enjoyable night to the Drumreilly Bacon and Boxty Night Halloween Social on Tuesday October 28th and reviews of the Cloone-Aughavas and Aughnasheelin Socials, which were enjoyed by all our representatives. All members are reminded to be in attendance at the weekly meeting at a lecture on Flu Vaccine, which will be delivered on this Wednesday night at 8pm.

Lotto results

The numbers drawn at the Aughawillan-Drumreilly G.A.A. Lotto Draw in the Ballymac Inn were 10, 19, 23 and 24. The following won cash prizes: Des Quinn, Drumcullion, Laurence Reilly, Carrigallen, Stephen Corrigan, Newtowngore, Seán Corrigan, Burren, Andy Donohoe, Newtowngore, Tommy McKiernan, Coragh and Oran Flanagan, Cully. The next Draw with a jackpot of €2,900 will take place in Bobby Joe’s, Ballinamore.

Recalling October 1996

Angela Fee was conferred with a Masters Degree in Business Studies in

Dublin City University. The following thirteen local students were among the eighty students and their teachers from Carrigallen V.S. who enjoyed a six-day educational tour to Paris: Suzanne Hehle, Sandra Smith, Jennifer Taylor, Christina O Reilly, Declan Grimes, Anthony Mimna, Nathan Maguire, William Hyland, Pádraig Fee, Karl McCartin, Mattie Fee, Raymond Holahan and John McKeon. Wedding bells rang in Our Lady’s Church, Knock for the late Tom Mimna and Lily Toher. Anna Marie McGirl and Terry Honeyman had announced their engagement. The following officers were elected at the A.G.M. Of Drumreilly Foróige Group: Chairman: John McKeon; Vice-Chairman: Pat Gannon; Secretary: Jennifer O Reilly; Asst. Secretary: Mary McKeon; Treasurers: Nigel and Nathan Maguire. The following were among the winners at a Table Quiz organised by Drumreilly Foróige Group: National Schools (1st) Team A: Rachel Kennedy, Margaret Smith, Tomás Fee and Stephanie McManus. (2nd) Team B: George Gannon, Christina O’Connell, Cillian Maguire, Matthew Fee and Thomas Mitchell. (3rd) Team C: Mary Holahan, Tanya McCartin, Catherine Fee, Louise Mitchell and Adrian Holahan. Secondary Schools: Team A: Marian Mulligan, Lorraine McCartin, Sabrina McCartin and Linda O Reilly. Team B: Francis Holahan, Evonne Maxwell, Kevin Holahan, Declan Maxwell, and Pádraig Fee. Following defeats of Dromahaire, Annaduff and Seán O Heslin’s, Drumreilly advanced to the U-16 League final to beat Allen Gaels in Kiltubrid on November 9th. St. Mary’s emerged winners over Drumreilly following a thrilling U-12 League final in Fenagh. The Drumreilly team was Ciaran McTague, Declan McBrien, Barry McBrien, Damian Mitchell, Nigel Flanagan, Barry Prior, Michael Quinn, Francis Holahan, Nigel Maguire, Eamonn Darcy, Christopher Prior, Seán Quinn, Declan Fee, Cillian Maguire and Eilish Quinn. Subs: George Gannon, Thomas Mitchell, Michael Holahan, Séamus McTague and Matthew Fee.