Bingo winners

Bingo winners

The following were among the winners on last Friday night in Drumreilly Community Centre: Debbie Keaney, Aughacashel, Tommy Cassidy, Drumgowna, Cillian Prior, Dublin, Mary Canning, Drumshanbo North, Bridie McBrien, Camber, Anne Masterson, Ardra, Helen O Rourke, Corlough, Cassie Dolan, Calloughs, Anne Tiernan, Drumshanbo, Miss McCabe, Corrawallen, Anne McCaffrey, Ballinamore, Brigid Corby, Kilmore, Pauline Darcy, Aughawillan, Pauline Smith, Drumury, Shirley Gooheen, Drumraine, Mary O’Rourke, Corlough, Bernadette O’Kane, Aughawillan, Mary Curran, Aughavas, Bennie Connolly, Drumlea, Berni McGrath, Killeshandra, Lily O’Neill, Killahurk, Siobhán Gannon, Drimmien, Mae McNabola, Moyne, Mary Conway, Drumnamore, Alice Shields, Ballinamore, Brigid Smith, Mahana, Dympna Gray, Ballinamore and Margaret Honeyman, Tullyoscar. Bingo will continue on next Friday at 9pm. As always the committee members are grateful for your support.


The death has taken place of Mr. Vincent Kearns, Drumcoura. His funeral took place on Friday last following Mass of the Resurrection in St. Mary’s Church, Drumlea to the adjoining cemetery. Fr. Denis Murray P.P. Carrigallen-Dumreilly officiated. Sympathy is extended to his sisters, brothers, nieces, nephews, cousins, in-laws and other relatives. I leaba na naomh go raibh a anam dílis.

Games cancelled

A number of fixtures, as advertised in the local paper last week, did not take place. Among them were the Minor A Championship Glencar Manorhamilton v St. Brigid’s and the U-14 Leitrim Gaels v St. Brigid’s games.

Recalling August 1993

Wedding bells rang in St. Mary’s Church, Carrigallen for Dessie Maguire and Maureen, Charles, in St. Mary’s Church, Drumlea for Kevin O’Rourke and Yeonette Donohoe, in Kilmore Cathedral for Cedric Hyland and Matilda Foster, in Rome for Peter Fleming and Emily Maxwell, and in Kilkee for Seán Maguire and Monica McNamara. The entries of both Aidan and Ciaran Holahan were among the prize-winners at Arva and Mohill Shows. While the games proved to be a disappointment there were other attractions in a full twelve hour day for the twenty seven young footballers of St. Mary’s N.S. who travelled to Croke Park. Garadice Gaels who earlier had beaten Allen Gaels and Oughteragh Gaels were beaten by St. Mary’s in the Minor Championship semi-final, played in Fenagh. The team was John Prior, Paul Plunkett, Denis Smith, Gene Connolly, Seán Mitchell, Christopher Mimna, John McGovern, Martin Flynn, Thomas Connolly (0-1), Francis Flynn (0-1), Connell McGovern

(0-3), Declan McCauley, Kenneth Darcy, Ollie Maguire (0-1) and Thomas Gannon. Garadice Gaels beat Oughteragh Gaels by 1-8 to 1-4 in the Plunkett Cup final. Drumreilly U-14s were beaten 5-3 to 3-8 by Kiltubrid, beat Allen Gaels by 10-9 to 5-1 and Gortletteragh 4-16 to 4-5 to reach the final against Kiltubrid to be beaten by 3-10 to 4-9 in Cloone. Aughawillan U-16 Ladies shared the spoils with Annaduff in Carrickmakeegan on a score of 3-4 to 2-7. The lineout was Noelle Kelleher, Sandra Smith, Siobhán Conlon, Fiona McCauley, Michelle Holahan, Joanne Holahan (0-2) Rosario McHugh (1-1), Michelle Kelleher (2-1), Paula McGovern and Claire Holahan. The death took place of Mrs. Mary Kiernan, Aughalough R.I.P.

Upcoming fixtures

The following fixtures are G.A.A. games fixed for the coming weeks: St. Brigid’s v St. Patrick’s Dromahair (Minor A Championship) on Wednesday, August 13th, Drumreilly v Annaduff (Div. 1) on Saturday, August 16th and St. Brigid’s v Fenagh-Gortletteragh (Minor A Championship) on Wednesday, August 20th).