Streete and district notes




The reader at 11am mass in Boherquill this Sunday, November 10, Breege Campbell and Eucharistic Minister, Mary Mulligan.

Mass Times

Please note that as and from now the Vigil Mass on Saturday’s will be at the earlier time of 6pm in both Boherquill and Rathowen. There will be no 8pm mass on Saturday’s. Sunday mass remains at 11am.


The 8pm mass on Friday, November 8 is in memory of the late Tom & Bridget Tighe, Tinode and deceased members of the family and the 11am mass on Sunday, November 10 is in memory of Raymond Murphy, Lisryan.


The writer of these notes every week, Brian Nerney apologises to all readers who missed the notes last week. This was due to our Gathering even. Sorry, but back to normal now!


Everyone agrees the Parish School’s Reunion Gathering was an outstanding success. See Page 66 for report and photo special.

Anyone who did not get the opportunity to sign the reunion past pupils’ and friends scroll etc. on our re-union night is invited to come along to the parish Park on Sunday, November 10 between 12 noon and 2pm.

School Re-union Photo Wall in the parish Park will remain up until Sunday, November 10 and anyone who has not yet seen the fantastic display of photos are welcome to come along and view them during opening hours in the Centre.

Thanks to Tony Tighe and his photos of the event can be seen on Tony did an amazing job with the photography for the event – well done.

Streete Wildlife Club

The club held its annual presentation night on Friday, November 1 last in the Cornmill Pub, Boherquill, and the following are the list of winners who got their prizes on the night. Members Clay Shoot 2013 High Gun Pat Denning with a score of 29 out of 30, Trap 1 Barry Sullivan, Trap 2 Tommy Denning, Trap 3 Willie Campbell, Trap 4 Michael Campbell, Trap 5 Joe Kelly, Under 21 Conor Mulligan, 15DTL Tommy Denning. Vermin Competition 2013 Tommy Denning. Pheasant Competition: Longest Pheasant 1st Willie Campbell, 2nd Joe Kelly, 3rd Patrick Owens. Longest Spur Competition1st Michael Campbell 2nd Padraig McGauran Club Person of the Year 2013 Pat Denning. Free Landowners Draw winners were Eugene Fitzpatrick Lisryan, and Willie Quinn Ruthall. On behalf of the club we thank the following for their help on the night Frank Walker and family at the Cornmill Pub, Boherquill, PJ Reilly Abbbeylara, Patsy Cooke Granard, and Jack Sullivan, and Pat Denning who sponsored the prizes for the Longest Spur competition.

Boherquill Ramblers

Oliver Usher led the Ramblers on a walk in Mullaghmeen Forest on Sunday, October 27 and as usual he chose an interesting combination of the trails which are laid out in the Forest, somehow ending up on the White walk which includes one steep climb but mostly follows forest roads. Beneath the Ramblers boots the forest floor was covered with leaves stripped from the beech trees by the windy weather. The lack of foliage overhead let in more light, and the undergrowth had died back, opening up wider views so the number of trees and the impressive size of the forest could be appreciated. Several periods of bright sunshine during the afternoon lit up the forest and the surrounding hills and fields. The picnic bench in the car park was put to good use for tea and biscuits at the end of the walk as the air grew cooler. Thank you to Oliver for leading a very enjoyable walk as always.

On Sunday, November 10 the Ramblers will travel to Ballymahon for a 5km walk beside the Royal Canal. Cars will leave Boherquill at 1.30pm and meet at the Mart in Ballymahon at 2pm.