Parish Ministries

Parish Ministries

The following are the January lay ministries in St. Mary’s Church,

Drumlea - Readers: Charlie McCartin and St. Mary’s N.S. pupils; Collectors: Pádraig Mulligan and Seán Kiernan; Counters: Brian Kiernan, Pádraig Gaffney and Séamus Maguire; Altar Society: Bernadette Mitchell and Patricia McCartin; Eucharistic Ministers: Susan Maguire and Peggy McGirl.

Irish Dancing Classes

The McCartin SD will recommence classes on Tuesday, 13th, Thursday

15th and Saturday 17th January in Drumreilly and Ballinamore Community

Centre. See www.mccartinsd.wordpress.com or

www.facebook.com/mccartinsd, or call 0879751872 for further info.

Active Age Snippets

Our first meeting of the New Year will be on this Wednesday, January 7th in the Community Centre. Our Group will be hosting the South Leitrim Forum on Wednesday January 14th.

Winners at Bingo

The following were among the winners at last Wednesday night’s Bingo session: Mrs. T. O Brien, Cornamuckla, Eileen Mulcahy, Corrawallen, Betty Galligan, Dromore, Kevin Beirne, Satrissaun, Joan Mulligan, Mt. Ida, Anne Masterson, Ardra, Lily O Neill, Carrigallen, Miss Mulligan, Mount Ida, Mary O Rourke, Corlough, Lily Sorahan, Drumlish, Pauline Darcy, Aughawillan, Caoimhe Gaffney, Mullaghboy, Geraldine Prior, Ballinamore, Michael Donohoe, Drumcoura, Emer McCabe, Corrawallen, Pat Conefrey, Corrawallen, Rose Smith, Drumury, Patricia Morrow, Ballykiltyfea, Anne McCaffrey, Ballinamore, Berni Smith, Drumury, Margaret McGovern, Bundara, Tommy Cassidy, Drumgowna, Mae Canning, Annaghmacullen, Kathleen Carthy, Clogher, Lily Curran, Ballinamore, Anne Maxwell, Carrickmakeegan, Siobhán Gannon, Drimmien, Mary Canning, Drumshanbo North, Patricia Corby, Ballinamore, Doreen Flanagan, Aughawillan, Lily Sorahan, Gortletteragh, Tony Galligan, Killeshandra, Eileen Gallagher, Mohill, and Breda McHugh, Corlough. Bingo will continue on next Friday at 8.30 p.m. The Committee members wish a Happy New Year to all our supporters.

Recalling January1993

Seán Maxwell took over the job of handing the Leitrim C.O. Board G.A.A. finances for the eighteenth time. Minor damage was caused to the roof of St. Mary’s Church in a raging gale which swept this area. The proceeds of the annual Bazaar were divided by the Community Centre and the G.A.A. Committees with a generous subvention going to the local Care of the Age Committee. In Drumcoura and Derrygoan several houses had sprung up. Drumreilly G.A.A. Club was presented with the award for the best-kept Leitrim pitch. The following underage players were presented with medals at a Social in the Commercial Hotel, Ballinamore: U-16s winners of the Rural Championship: Denis Smith, Francis Flynn, Seán Mitchell, Declan McCauley, Niall Bohan, Gene Connolly, Martin Flynn, Thomas Connolly, Paul Bohan, Shane Maguire, Connell McGovern, Noel McGirl, Enda Beirne, Kenneth Darcy, Niall Gallogly, John Prior, Brendan Smith, Oliver Looby R.I.P. Ciaran J Holahan, J.P. Gannon, Noel Gannon and John Donegan. U-12s Division 1 Winners; Karl Gallogly, Raymond Holahan, Pat Gannon, Gary Maxwell, Jarlath Prior, Anthony Mimna, Tony Lunney, Declan Maxwell, James Holahan, John McKeon, Gavin Beirne, Mattie Fee, Ciaran Conlon, Damian Holahan, Martin McGovern, Adrian McGirl, Damian McGovern, Shane McManus, Ciaran Dolan, D. McCabe, D. Maxwell, Declan McGirl, Declan Grimes, Derek Donegan, Declan Gannon, J. McTague and Gerard Conlon. Drumkeerin beat Drumreilly by 3-8 to 2-9 in the U-16 League final.