Success for local Students

Success for local Students

On Saturday last at the University of Limerick Conor McCartin, son of Christy and Patricia McCartin, Carrickmakeegan, studying at N.U.I. Galway was one of two high-performing Leitrim students awarded a J.P. McManus Scholarship towards third level education. The other recipient of an award was D.C.U. student Colm Callinan, Manorhamilton. Among

those conferred on Wednesday last in Sligo R.T.C. were Majella McCartin, (B.A. In Social Studies), daughter of Charlie and Marian, McCartin, Keelrin, Karen McGirl, (B.A. in Social Studies), daughter of John and Peggy McGirl, Derrygoan, Dermot Holahan (Bachelor of

Engineering in Civil Engineering) son of Frank and Christine Holahan, Gortahose and Danielle McGovern (Bachelor of Business (Honours), daughter of Kevin and Susan McGovern, Aughoo. Go neirí go geal leo sna blianta atá le teacht.


The death has taken place of Mrs. Mary Gorby, Ballymagovern, Garadice, Co. Cavan. Sympathy is extended to her sons, daughters and other relatives, among whom is her son-in-law Mr. Seán Rourke, Clenaghoo. R.I.P.

Club Draw

All are requested to support the Drumreilly Club Draw. Tickets cost €20 each, and the following are the prizes: 1st: €3,000; 2nd: €1,000, 3rd: €500 and five prizes of €100. The fundraiser is in aid of further development at Páirc Droim Oir Bhealaigh.

Winners at Bingo

The following were among the winners at last Friday night’s Bingo session in the Community Centre: Pete Dwyer, Drumshanbo, Bridget Smith, Mahana, Anne Masterson, Ardra, Kathleen Carthy, Clogher, Benny Connolly, Drumlea, Peter Toher, Templeport, Tommy Cassidy, Drumgowna, Patricia Morrow, Ballykiltyfea, Pat Flynn, Keshcarrigan, Gretta O’Neill, Carrigallen, Maureen Bracken, Keelrin, Debbie Keaney, Aughacashel, Margaret Galligan, Killeshandra, Alice Shields, Ballinamore, Geraldine Prior, Ballinamore, Siobhán Gannon, Drimmien, Kathleen Kiernan, Corriga, Conor Canning, Drumshanbo North, Betty Taylor, Clonboyher, Brigid McGovern, Lambfield, M. McDermott, Bridget

Corby, Kilmore, Mrs. Dwyer, Drumshanbo, Rose Smith, Drumury, Margaret Toher, Templeport, Ita Sutherland, Toome, Rose Mary Kilkenny, Bundarragh, Mary O Rourke, Corlough, Margaret McKeon, Aughatowney, Francie Flanagan, Ballinamore, Berni Smith, Drumury, Emer McCabe,Corrawallen and Eileen Gallagher, Mohill. Bingo will continue on next Friday at 8.30 p.m.

Autumn Sale

All roads lead to Newtowngore Hall on this Friday November15th for the annual Newtowngore-Corrawallen Parish Autumn Sale, which will start at 7.30p.m. The various stalls will feature books, bric-a-brac, cakes, crafts, toys etc. and there will be the usual high standard of attractive prizes in the raffles. The admission will be €3 (supper included) and children will be free.

Community Centre meeting

There was an attendance of seven at a meeting of Drumreilly Community Centre Committee on last Tuesday night. Chairman Tommy Connolly presided. Among the items on the agenda were ongoing work on the building, including some new doors, and windows, electricity work, attic insulation, plumbing etc., and preparations for the annual

Bazaar which will run on the 6th and 7th December. A vote of sympathy was proposed to John McGirl and the relatives of the late Liam McGirl. The next meeting will be held on Tuesday November 26th at 8p.m.

Recalling November 1992

Twenty two tables were filled at the Drumreilly Community Centre Committee Table Quiz. The winners were as follows: 1st: Ballinamore Team of Seán O Sullivan, Jack McGovern R.I.P., Diarmaid McCaffrey and Donal Gallagher.2nd: Moyne team of George Taaffe, John Owens, Mary E. Gray and Pat Jones. Drumreilly made a successful U-21 a-side League

debut with victory over Fenagh. The team was Martin McCartin, Pádraig Lunney, Aidan Holahan (2-3), Christopher Mimna (1-0), Pat Connolly (1-1), Patsy Mimna (0-1), Oliver Maguire and Thomas Connolly (1-3). Drumreilly with a 6-8 to 3-5 win over Dromahaire booked their passage to the Dolan Cup semi final against Drumkeerin. Thomas Connolly,

Pádraig Lunney and Christopher Mimna were members of the Leitrim Voc. Schools team which beat Sligo in the Connacht Final. Martin McCartin, Aidan Holahan and Pat Connolly were presented with their Leitrim Hastings Cup 1991 winners’ medals. Siobhán Donohoe took up employment with N.I.B. in Dublin. Local recipients of Diplomas on Conferring Day

in Sligo R.T.C. were Michael Holahan (Nat Dip. in Business Studies) and Fergal Conefrey (Nat. Dip. in Construction Studies). On General Election Day the votes cast in Drumlea Booth were as follows: D. Bree (2), M. Brennan (4), John Ellis (90), G. Healy (1), J. McGettrick (0), S. McManus (6), P. Melly (0), T. Nealon (0) and G. Reynolds (106). The

death took place of Carrickmakeegan-born Kevin Maxwell, Newtownforbes R.I. P.

Active Age Snippets

All members are requested to attend the weekly meeting on this

Wednesday night, when the venue for the Christmas Party is down for

discussion. It is also hoped to have a guest speaker to address the

meeting on health matters

U-16 Championship Final

The old proverb “Bíonn blas ar an mbeagán”, when applied to any close encounter, conveys that a narrow victory is sweet. And so it was on Saturday November 3rd in Aughnasheelin for the large crowd of supporters and members of The Garadice Gaels team, which scored a narrow 0-8 to 0-7 victory over Kiltubrid in the U-16 11-a-side

Championship final. When the same two teams met in the U-16 13 a-side League final in June it was a second half surge by Kiltubrid that propelled them to a 5-9 to 3-9 victory after they had been in arrears by four points at the interval. Following heavy rain that preceded the game, two fine sporting teams served up enjoyable fare for the large crowd of enthusiastic supporters. Midfielder Pierce Dolan, punishing a foul on Dylan Mimna in the 8th minute, opened Garadice’s account, and three minutes later added another point from play. At this stage Garadice could do no wrong, and scores followed in quick succession,

courtesy of staunch defender Ronan Maxwell, Peter Prior and Michael Prior. On the approach of half time Stephen Meissner and Patrick Meehan traded scores to leave the score at 0-6 to 0-1. On the resumption the game swung Kiltubrid’s way, as they whittled down the five points deficit with scores from Patrick Meehan (2pts.), and a point each from Owen Dolan, Stephen McLoughlin and Paddy Kelly, to gain parity at 0-6 all. The Garadice defence made gallant efforts to stem the tide, but up front the forwards hit three wides, and were further frustrated by a great save from goalie Declan Kelly before the 20th minute. Finally Dylan Mimna ended the stalemate when he floated a relieving Gaels point, and determined corner back Donal McCabe further allayed Garadice’s fears by finishing one of his long upfield surges with a great point that was to prove a match winner. Alert goalie

Jason Prior and the resolute quartet in defence of Niall Stringer, Donal McCabe, Fergal McTague and Ronan Maxwell with generous support from midfielders Pierce Dolan and Michael Prior came up trumps at this point as Kiltubrid, in no mood for surrender, and led by Owen Dolan, Stephen McLoughlin, and Patrick Meehan mounted several assaults which yielded only a late, single point before referee James McCaffrey called time. The following represented Garadice Gaels: Jason Prior, Donal McCabe, Ronan Maxwell, Fergal McTague, Niall Stinger, Ronan Maxwell, Fergal McTague, Pierce Dolan, Michael Prior, Stephen Meissner, Peter Prior, Dylan Mimna and Ronan McTague Subs: Yann Le Guen, Darragh Maxwell, Michael McTague and Louis Meeken.