Championship defeat

Championship defeat

We were beaten on Saturday by 1-12 to 0-8 by Kiltubrid. Annaduff had the benefit of the wind in the first half and went in at the break level at 0-6 each. The first half performance was good, however, Kiltubrid were the better team in the second half. Kiltubrid’s aerial superiority was evident all through. Kiltubrid scored the first point followed by two Annaduff points from Cathal Cox and Sean McNabola. Kiltubrid got the next point before Ray Cox pointed to put Annaduff ahead. Kiltubrid got the next three points. Ray Cox and Emmet Mahon exchanged points. Annaduff got the next two points from Sean McNabola and Matty Cox to leave the sides level at half time. James Gill opened the second half scoring with a Kiltubrid point. Sean McNabola levelled the match with a point in the 35th minute and the same player put Annaduff ahead with a point after 40 minutes, this was Annaduff last score with Kiltubrid scoring 1-5 without reply for the rest of the match. Annaduff: Jim McCormack, Nigel Cox, Chris Farrell, Dean Gill, James Cox, David Duignan, Matty Cox (capt.) (0-1), Dillon Kane, Cathal Cox (0-1), Daniel Duignan, Conor Reynolds, Kenny Cox, Ray Cox (0-2), Sean McNabola (0-4), Eoin Gill. Subs used: Matthew Reynolds (for Daniel Duignan), Gary Bohan (for D. Gill), Ronan Conroy (for C. Cox), Ronan McCormack (for C. Reynolds), Conor Reynolds (Black card for C. Farrell).

Gold Medal winner

Congratulations to Aideen Harte, Aughamore who won a Gold Medal in swimming at the Special Olympics.

Junior Championship

Annaduff who started with 13 players were beaten by Championship favourites Aughavas in Ballinamore on Sunday by 3-19 to 1-8. The arrival of Joe Cox in the 15th minute and Ronan Cox at the start of the second half brought us up to 15 players. Nonethless, this was a very spirited performance. Aughavas led by 2-9 to 1-4 at half time and outscored Annaduff by 1-10 to 0-4 in the second half. Annaduff: Kevin Ludlow, Michael Lynch, Thomas Flanagan, Keith Duignan, Micheal O’Dowd, James Riordan, Owen Reynolds, Gerry Newton (0-2), Alan Cox, Brendan Lynch (capt.), Sean Duignan (0-1), Johnny O’Connor, Colm Cox plus Joe Cox (15 mins.), Ronan Cox (second half).


Deepest sympathy is extended to the Bohan family on the death of John Bohan, Corduff. Removal took place to St. Mary’s Church, Annaduff with burial in the adjoining Cemetery. May he rest in Peace.

Rooskey 5K Run/Walk

The Run/walk takes place in Rooskey Village on Wednesday, 2nd July. Registration is 10 euro or 20 euro for family at Rooskey Community Centre on Monday, 30th June from 7-9pm and at 6.30 on Wednesday prior to walk. Proceeds in aid of Rooskey Church Restoration Fund.


At the draw held in Cox’s Steakhouse, there was no Jackpot winner. The numbers drawn were 1, 2, 14, 16. The 50 euro winner was Ann Marie Cox. The 25 euro winners were John McGushin, Pauline Talbot, Niall O’Connor, Thomas Faughnan. The next draw takes place on Sunday night next in Duignan’s of Drumsna with a Jackpot of 7,300 euro.