At the Annual Congress of the Irish Veterinary Nursing Association, which was held on May 21st/22nd in the Tullamore Court Hotel, Miss Vera Bowes was one of three ladies to receive special awards. We heartily congratulate Vera, who is daughter of Cecil and Louie Bowes, Corrawallen, on being winner of the Veterinary Nurse of the Year 2011 Award. She works in the Active Vet- Care Veterinary Care Hospital, Sandyford Dublin.


The following were among the winners in Drumreilly Community Centre on last Friday night: Caoimhe Gaffney, Mullaghboy, Bridie McBrien, Camber, M. Nicholl, Alice Shields, Ballinamore, Rose Darcy, Ballinamore, Anne Nicholl, Mary O Rourke, Corlough, Marian McCartin, Keelrin, Michael McGovern, Crossdrummon, Una Maguire, Aughalough, Rose Smith, Drumury, Michael Donohoe, Drumcoura, Mae Canning, Annaghmacullen, Eileen Mulcahy, Corrawallen, Vincent McBrien, Camber, Kathleen Carthy, Clogher, Doreen Flanagan, Aughawillan, Maureen Bracken, Keelrin, Nan Connolly, Ardunsaghan, Berni Smith, Drumury, Pauline Darcy, Aughawillan, Cassie Holahan, Calloughs, Chrissie Gaffney, Mullaghboy, Mary McGovern, Cattan, Margaret McKeon, Aughatowney, Margaret Galligan, Killeshandra and Jimmy Bohan, Gortnagullion. Bingo will continue on next Friday at 9.00 p.m.


Aughnasheelin proved too strong for Drumlea School team in the Schools final, and repeated their victory of an earlier game in a similar fashion. Well done to all the players in the panel, who won the admiration of many during the campaign. While they battled bravely in the final, theirs was an uphill task from the outset. The lineout was Ciara Lavin, Dylan Maguire, Hughie Maguire, Caoimhe Gaffney, Peter Prior, Niamh McCabe and Stephen Meissner. Subs used: Manus Connolly, Stephanie Daly, Niamh Donegan, Seán Prior.


There was no Jackpot on Wednesday night May 25th. The numbers drawn were 3, 4, 25 and 26. The following won €20 each: Ruth McNiffe, Drumgowna, B. Queenan, Easkey, Co. Sligo, Denise Breen, Co. Meath, Jennifer Fitzpatrick, Cloone, Brian Fee, Clonboyher, Mary Flanagan, Cully, Tommy Connolly Sr., Ardunsaghan, The next Draw with a Jackpot of €6,100 will be held in Reynold’s, Ballinamore on this Wednesday June 8th.


The Annual General Meeting of Drumreilly Community Centre was held on Monday of last week. Outgoing Secretary Frances O Reilly read the Constitution and also the Minutes of the 2010 A.G.M. In her review of the activities of the past year the Secretary highlighted the installation of a comprehensive fire alarm system, the installation of a special central heating meter for the use mainly of the Playgroup, the annual Bazaar which, after postponement because of the December storm, was held in February. She concluded by thanking her fellow officers and all who contributed to a very successful year. Outgoing Treasurer a well researched Financial Statement, and Shop Manager Susan Maguire reported on a successful year. Outgoing Chairperson Bridie Mulligan was lavish in her praise of all who helped in the past year, all who supported the various functions and complimented all who used the Centre. She tendered sympathy to those who suffered bereavement. The Officers elected for the coming year are as follows: Chairperson: Bernadette Grimes; Vice Chairperson: Bridie Mulligan; Secretary: Susan Maguire; Asst. Secretary: Frances O Reilly; Treasurer: Marian McCartin; Asst. Treasurer: Charlie McCartin; Shop Managers: Eileen McGovern and John McGirl; P.R.O.: Pat Conefrey; Asst. P.R.O.: Christy O Reilly.


Well done to Dylan Mimna, son of Tomás and Rosie Mimna, Drumshangore on being declared Student of the Year (First Year) at Carrigallen Vocational School.


Bornacoola exacted retribution for their Division 1 defeat by Drumreilly two weeks ago by collecting a brace of Shield B points on last Saturday evening in Carrickmakeegan. The final score was 2-8 to 0-9. The Drumreilly lineout was as follows: Mick McGirl, Paddy O Connell, Seán Fee (pt.), Christopher Mimna, Brian Fee (2pts.), Ollie Maguire, Brian Mitchell, John Fee, Graeme Taylor, Adrian McGirl (pt.), Nigel Maguire (3pts.), Ronan McCartin, James Holahan, Cormac Maguire (pt.) and Damon Maguire. Sub: Declan Maxwell (pt.).

JUNE 1972

Forty two children from Gortermone, Kilmore and Gortahose with their teachers Catherine Duffy, Nuala Whitney, Anna Mae Denneny, Evelyn Reynolds and Pat Conefrey travelled by coach to Butlin’s Holiday Camp, and the itinerary also included visits to St. Peter’s Drogheda to the Shrine of martyr Oliver Plunkett, the Hill of Slane and the tumulus at Newgrange. There were over four entries in the thirty four events in Drumreilly Youth Club’s first annual Sports held in Quinn’s field, Drumcoura. Wedding bells rang for Peter Murray, Kinkeen and Mary Walsh, Aughnasheelin, and for Pee McGoohan, Ardunsaghan and Mary McAteer, Bawnboy. Peter Tiernan, Kinkeen and Teresita Jinks, Sligo had announced their engagement. The deaths took place of Mr. Bob Brookes, Clonboyher, Mr. John Joe Patterson, Dohern and Mrs, Ellen Gaffney, Corrala. R. I. P.


Drumreilly, unable to make the numbers on Sunday last, were forced to concede the Division 5 points to Glenfarne -Kilty.


The Drumreilly G.A.A. Club annual Golf Classic has been fixed for Saturday July 9th in Ballinamore Golf Club. The main sponsor is Tony Gannon.