29 Jun 2022

Out for the count: Day three of Longford's local election count gets underway

Out for the count: Day three of Longford's local election count gets underway

Ballymahon boxes being opened in Edgeworthstown first thing this morning

The count is well underway in Edgeworthstown this morning with Ballymahon MD boxes being opened first thing. A thorough sorting of Ballymahon votes is underway while other members of count staff divvy up the surplus votes of Turlough McGovern and Micheál Carrigy who were elected to Granard Municipal District late last night with 1,280 votes and 1,183 votes respectively.

Meanwhile in Longford MD, Tony Reilly's 92 votes are being redistributed following his elimination in the third count, the results of which were also announced last night.

ELECTIONS 2019: AT A GLANCE | The members of Longford County Council as they are elected

So far, only three councillors have been elected in county Longford, with Joe Flaherty topping the poll in Longford MD and getting elected on the first count. Turlough McGovern and Micheál Carrigy were also elected in Granard MD on the first count.

Follow our live blog for updates as they happen.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.