Longford hurlers lose narrowly against Monaghan in the National League opener

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A - Round 1

Jonathan O'Meara


Jonathan O'Meara



allianz national hurling league division 3

Daire Duggan pictured in action for the Longford hurlers against Monaghan in the National League Division 3A game at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday. Photo: Syl Healy

Longford hurlers opened their National League campaign with a four point defeat against Monaghan at a blustery Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday and while the result did not go their way, their manager Colum O’Meara and his backroom team should be reasonably pleased with the performance.

Longford . . . 0-12     Monaghan . . . 0-16

O’Meara will be only too well aware that the game was there for the taking but after full-forward Sean Stakelum was sent-off for a second bookable offence, it proved to be a significant setback for Longford. 

Once Longford were reduced the 14 men, Monaghan quickly capitalised and four unanswered points in the closing exchanges ensured the visitors would come away from Pearse Park with the win.

Longford have relied heavy on their two chief scorers Cathal Mullane and John Mulhern in the past and Sunday’s encounter was no different. Mullane accounted for seven of Longford’s tally while Mulhern added three excellent points from open play with centre-half-forward Patrick Walsh also hitting a brace of white flag efforts for the ‘blue and gold’.

 Scorers: Longford - C Mullane 0-7, 6f; J Mulhern 0-3; P Walsh 0-2.

Monaghan - F Rafter 0-8, 4f,’ 2 ‘45’; C Flynn 0-3; M Treanor 0-2; B Guinan 0-1; M Murphy 0-1; J Guinan 0-1. 

 LONGFORD:  Conor Gallagher; Aidan Sheridan, Karl Murray, Gerard Moore; Seamus Hannon, Bart Hanley, Daniel Connell; Johnny Casey, Jody Leonard; John Mulhern, Patrick Walsh, Daire Duggan; Reuben Murray, Sean Stakelum, Cathal Mullane.

 Subs:- Paul Leonard for J Leonard (65 mins); Paddy Corcoran for J Casey 70 mins).

 MONAGHAN: Patrick Bermingham; Jamie Guinan, Kevin Crawley, Brian Flanagan;  Niall Garland, Patrick Finnegan, Martin Murphy; Mark Treanor, Peter Treanor; Fergal Rafter, Aaron Kenny, Conor Flynn; Conor Boyle, Eamonn Collins, Brian McGuigan .   

 Subs:- Cathal Power for E Collins (15 mins); Pearse McKenna for C Boyle (39 mins); Shane McNally for C Power (72 mins).  

 Referee: Seanie Stack (Dublin).