02 Oct 2022

No Senator from Longford in Taoiseach's 11 nominees

No Senator from Longford in Taoiseach's 11 nominees


Despite extensive appeals by Longford Fine Gael to An Taoiseach Enda Kenny to appoint a Senator from Longford, the county missed out once again when the Taoiseach’s nominees were announced today.

It emerged earlier this week that the Taoiseach had indicated to local Fine Gael members that he would not be appointing anyone from Longford as he did not want to choose from two up and coming councillors, widely thought to be Micheal Carrigy and Colm Murray.  

There was better news for Roscommon when, as predicted, former TD Frank Feighan was appointed to the Seanad.  Former Mayo TDs John O’ Mahony and Michelle Mulherrin were also nominated as were former TDs Paudie Coffey, Ray Butler and Dr James Reilly. As expected, there was no room at the table for former Longford TD James Bannon.  

The remainder of the Taoiseach’s nominees are: Joan Freeman (Founder of Pieta House); Billy Lawless (advocate for Irish immigrants in the U.S.); Colette Kelleher (CEO Alzheimers Ireland); Pádraig Ó’Céidigh (Businessman) and  Marie-Louise O’Donnell (Former Senator).

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.