29 Sept 2022

Longford juniors storm back to beat Cavan

Longford juniors storm back to beat Cavan

Longford . . . . . . 3-15     Cavan . . . . . 2-15

Hopes of some Leinster success for Longford this year are still alive after the junior footballers came back from the dead to conquer Cavan in the first round clash at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Wednesday evening.

The home supporters among the sparse attendance of around 150 watched their side stage a remarkable recovery in the exciting second half, coming from ten points down to take the lead after enjoying a glorious dominant spell that yielded 2-6 without reply between the 38th and 50th minutes with the crucial goals coming from Enda Dalton and substitute Vinny Hourican.  

Back came Cavan to score 1-3, with Ryan Connolly getting the goal from a well struck penalty in the 55th minute to put his side in front again, but gritty Longford just refused to accept defeat and drew level with a goal from Aidan McElligott in the 58th minute.

Cavan were rattled and Longford finished the stronger with points from Shane Kenny, David McGivney (free) and Jayson Matthews to clinch a Leinster junior semi-final showdown away to the title holders Wexford on Thursday week, June 2nd, with Kildare taking on Louth in the other last four clash.



LONGFORD: Ciaran Garvey (Mostrim); Liam Hughes (Killoe Emmet Og), Daniel Keogh (Killoe Emmet Og), Ronan Sweeney (Clonguish); Shane Mulligan (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s), Aaron Quinn (Fr Manning Gaels), James Carroll (Rathcline); Fergal Sheridan (Colmcille), Shane Kenny (Rathcline, 0-2); Nigel Rabbitte (Abbeylara), Aidan McElligott (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s, 1-2), David McGivney (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s 0-4, all frees); Rian Brady (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s, 0-1), Jayson Matthews (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s, 0-3), Enda Dalton (St Jude’s, Dublin, 1-1).



Subs:- Seamus Hannon (Mostrim, 0-1) for F Sheridan (29 mins); Conor Farrell (Cashel) for L Hughes (black card, 34 mins); Larry Moran (Killoe Young Emmets, 0-1) for N Rabbitte (40 mins); Vinny Hourican (Colmcille, 1-0) for S Mulligan (43 mins); Cathal Reilly (Colmcille) for E Dalton (56 mins).



CAVAN: Joe O’Donoghue; Aaron Watson, James Morris, Dean O’Reilly; Benjamin Kelly, Shane O’Rourke, Breffni McKiernan; Brian Sankey, Turloch Mooney; Enda Henry (0-1), Barry Doyle (1-2), Jonathan McCabe (0-3); Peter McCabe, Caoimhin O’Reilly (0-3, one free), Ryan Connolly (1-5, all points from frees, goal from penalty).



Subs:- Dillon Raythorne (0-1) for S O’Rourke (injured, 8 mins); Donal Monahan for D O’Reilly (half-time); Liam O’Reilly for J O’Donoghue (injured, 40 mins); Niall Clerkin for J Morris (injured, 40 mins); Mark Teevan for B McKiernan (56 mins).


Referee: Davey Moore (Laois).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.