27 Sept 2022

Wexford knock Longford U-21s out

Wexford knock Longford U-21s out

Larry Moran pictured in action for Longford U21s against Wexford in the Leinster Championship last night. Photo: Declan Gilmore

Wexford . . . . . 0-14   Longford . . . . 2-5

A lot was expected of the Longford U-21 footballers this season but there was bitter disappointment as the county crashed out of the Leinster Championship on a cold Wednesday night at St Patrick’s Park in Enniscorthy.   

Falling at the first hurdle was not supposed to happen but it did and nobody at the game can argue with the fact that Wexford were the better team, clearly reflected in their total of 14 scores as compared to seven for a flat Longford side who never really got going.

Apart from the couple of well-worked goals in the first half (scored by Larry Moran and Dessie Reynolds) which left them in a rather flattering 2-1 to 0-5 lead at the break, this was a poor performance by Frank McNamee’s side.

Wexford came from three points down to fire over seven scores in a row in a completely dominant second half spell to clinch another home game in the quarter-final against Westmeath next Wednesday night.

WEXFORD: Ben Turner; Daire Barden, Jim Rossiter, Robert Vallejo; Shane Doyle, Naomhan Rossiter, Simon Donohoe; Niall Hughes, Glen Malone; Eoghan Nolan (0-1), Ian Carty, Bryan Power (0-1); Donal Shanley (0-8, seven frees), Eoin Roche (0-1), Sean Ryan (0-2).

Subs:- Tom Byrne (0-1) for G Malone (half-time); Jamie Carty for E Roche (58 mins); Tim Bowler for B Power (two minutes into stoppage time).

LONGFORD: Shane Fitzpatrick (Killoe Emmet Og); Ronan Sweeney (Clonguish), Andrew Farrell (Cashel), Enda Macken (Colmcille); Liam Hughes (Killoe Emmet Og), Conor Farrell (Cashel), Vinny Hourican (Colmcille); Shane Kenny (Rathcline), David McGivney (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s, 0-1, free); Paddy Kiernan (Killoe Emmet Og), Liam Sullivan (St Mary’s Granard, 0-1), Dessie Reynolds (Sean Connolly’s, 1-0); Larry Moran (Killoe Emmet Og, 1-2, one point from free), Nigel Rabbitte (Abbeylara), Conor Berry (Abbeylara).

Subs:- Rian Brady (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s, 0-1) for E Macken (half-time); Patrick Farrell (Carrickedmond) for N Rabbitte (40 mins); Cian Brady (Abbeylara) for L Hughes (42 mins); Fergal Sheridan (Colmcille) for P Kiernan (51 mins); Aidan McElligott (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s) for C Berry (58 mins).

Blood sub (second half): David Shannon (Carrickedmond) for S Fitzpatrick (34 mins); Fitzpatrick back on (40 mins).

Referee: Seamus Mulhare (Laois).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.