28 Nov 2021

Longford SFC: Crucial late goals give Mullinalaghta the edge over Killoe

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Semi-Final

senior football championship 2021

Donal McElligott on the break for Mullinalaghta ahead of Killoe opponent Larry Moran. Action from the SFC semi-final on Sunday Photo: Syl Healy

Mullinalaghta are back in the Senior Football Championship final for the first time since they completed a magnificent three-in-a-row in 2018 with crucial late goals from James McGivney and Michael Cunningham giving them the edge over the title holders Killoe.

Mullinalaghta St Columba’s . . . 2-7   Killoe Emmet Og 0-7

Played in difficult conditions at a wet and windy Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday evening, St Columba’s were in front throughout the match but just a solitary point separated the sides (0-7 to 0-6) when Mark Hughes converted a free for Emmet Og in the 47th minute.

During that same period of the semi-final clash, Mullinalaghta were down to 14 players after full-back Patrick Fox received a black card in the 44th minute but Ciaran Fox’s side showed a lot of character to overcome this setback.

James McGivney pounced on the breaking ball in weaving his way through for a well-taken goal in the 53rd minute and soon after Michael Cunningham planted a cracking strike into the back of the net (56th minute) to clinch a deserved victory for St Columba’s who now meet Mostrim in the county final on Sunday November 7.   

MULLINALAGHTA ST COLUMBA’S: Patrick Rogers; Simon Cadam, Patrick Fox, Francis Mulligan; Donal McElligott (0-1), Shane Mulligan, Gary Rogers; John Keegan (0-1), David McGivney (0-1); Michael Cunningham (1-0), James McGivney (1-0), Cian Mackey; Jayson Matthews (0-1), Aidan McElligott (0-1), Rian Brady (0-2).

Subs:- Connor Leonard for R Brady (60 mins); Tom Meehan for G Rogers (stoppage time). 

KILLOE EMMET OG: Shane Fitzpatrick; Darren Moffatt, Liam Hughes, James Moran; Niall Farrelly, Michael Quinn, Ryan Moffatt; Ronan Keogh, Euan Finneran; Jonathan Borland (0-1), Daniel Mimnagh (0-3, two frees), Eamon Keogh; Larry Moran (0-1), Ronan McGoldrick, Mark Hughes (0-2, frees).  

Subs:- Cian Farrelly for L Hughes (injured, half-time); Cian Dooner for R McGoldrick (41 mins); Denis McGoldrick for E Finneran ( 59 mins). 

Referee: Aidan Dowler (Ardagh Moydow). 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.