Longford SFC: Slashers cruise to easy win over Fr Manning Gaels

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group A - Round 3

longford gaa

Westmeath senior football boss Jack Cooney, who is a member of the Longford Slashers management team Photo: Syl Healy

Longford Slashers cruised to an easy win over Fr Manning Gaels in the Senior Football Championship Group A Round 3 clash at Emmet Park on Saturday evening. 

Longford Slashers . . . 0-18    Fr Manning Gaels . . . 1-5

Needing a victory to keep alive their hopes of qualifying for the quarter-finals after losing against Mostrim and Killoe in the first two fixtures, Slashers were in control after building up a comfortable 0-10 to 0-5 lead at half-time.  

A black card for substitute Stephen Donnelly just before the break was a blow for the Gaels and their tale of woe continued when Cian Cassidy was sent-off for a red card foul on Ronan Kenny in the 47th minute. 

While Slashers squandered several chances during the course of the game with the Gaels keeper Aiden Grey producing a few point-blank saves, they still won by the wide margin of 12 points.

Paddy Collum scored a consolation goal for the Drumlish/Ballinamuck side when he converted a penalty in the 54th minute, awarded for a foul on Cian Brady. 

Westmeath senior football boss Jack Cooney is a member of the Slashers management team and he was in Emmet Park to watch the sky-blues register their first win in the 2021 championship campaign. 

LONGFORD SLASHERS: Eoin McGuinness; Ronan Kenny, Ronan Sheehan, Adrian Duffy; Sean Clarke (0-2), Gerard Flynn, Peter Lynn (0-3); Andrew Dalton (0-1), Tadhg McNevin (0-1); Andrew Kelly (0-2), Conor Clarke, Darragh O’Connell (0-2); Ruairi Clarke (0-1), Robbie O’Connell (0-3, one free), Robbie Clarke (0-2).

Subs:- Mario Pirlog for R Kenny (injured, 48 mins); Niall Mulligan for C Clarke (59 mins); Dean Coughlan for Ruairi Clarke (two minutes into stoppage time); Cian O Nuallain (0-1) for D O’Connell (three minutes into stoppage time).

FR MANNING GAELS: Aiden Grey; JP Farrelly, Cian Brady, Cian Murphy; Aaron McGee, Gary Connell, Mark Hughes; Liam Lynch, Sean Whelan; Ryan Crowe, Pauric Gill (0-2), Emmet Noonan; Cian Cassidy (0-2, one free), Paddy Collum (1-1, goal from penalty, point from free), Conor Keenan.

Subs:- Mark Duffy for S Whelan (28 mins); Stephen Donnelly for R Crowe (28 mins); Mark Breslin for A McGee (43 mins).

Referee: Aidan Dowler (Ardagh Moydow). 

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.