Longford and Tyrone finish all square in thriller

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A - Round 2

longford gaa

Daniel Connell pictured in action for Longford against Tyrone in the Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A game at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday Photo: Syl Healy

Longford and Tyrone played out a thrilling draw in the National Hurling League Division 3A clash at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday.

Longford . . . 2-22     Tyrone . . . 2-22

From the start it was a highly entertaining game. Longford will feel aggrieved not to have won after leading by five points twice and then by three going into stoppage time. 

Tyrone led by a point at the break (2-11 to 1-13) but Longford were not going to be denied after producing a terrific overall performance and looked set for victory when Cathal Mullane scored his second goal with time running out.

Back came Tyrone to snatch a draw with a point from a free converted by Damien Casey in the second minute of stoppage time, the last score in a cracking contest. 

Right at the end Longford keeper Bart Hanley brought off a fine save to deny former Antrim star CJ McGourty as the home side held on for a share of the spoils in a frantic finish to a fantastic match.  

LONGFORD: Bart Hanley; Aiden Sheridan, Martin Coyle (0-1), Gerry Moore; Daniel Connell, Enda Naughton, Johnny Casey; Steve Creaven (0-2, 0-1f), Dwayne Sheedy; Cathal Mullane (2-3), David Buckley (0-5), Luke Kelly (0-1); John Mulhern, Joe O’Brien (0-8, 0-2f, 0-2 ’65s), Cian Kavanagh (0-1). 

Subs:- Reuben Murray for A Sheridan and Paul Barden Jnr (0-1) for M Coyle (half-time); Maithiu O’Donohoe for L Kelly (45 mins); Shane O’Brien for J Mulhern (59 mins); Conor Keegan for C Kavanagh (62 mins). 

TYRONE: Conor McElhatton; Conor McNally, Chris Kearns, Sean Donaghy; Dean Rafferty, Lorcan Devlin (0-1), Duibhir Marshall; Conor Grogan, Byran McGurk (0-1); Tiarnan Morgan (0-4), CJ McGourty (2-4), Darragh Grogan (0-1); Cian Ferguson, Damien Casey (0-9, 0-6fs, 0-1 ’65), Rory Weir.

Subs:- Michael Little (0-2) for R Weir (half-time); Liam Armstrong for D Grogan (48 mins); Padraig McGrath for D Marshall (52 mins), Anthony Crossan for D Rafferty (61 mins).

Referee: Michael Kennedy (Tipperary).

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.