29 Jun 2022

Longford SFC: Ryan Crowe goal the matchwinner as the gutsy Gaels overcome Carrickedmond

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 3 - Round 2

senior football championship 2020

Fr Manning Gaels manager Jack Lynn, who guided his side to a great win over Carrickedmond in the SFC Round 2 game at McGann Park, Kenagh on Friday night Pic: Declan Gilmore

After suffering a heavy defeat against Longford Slashers in the opening round the previous week, gutsy Fr Manning Gaels showed a lot of spirit in a terrific team effort in bouncing back to beat Carrickedmond in the Senior Football Championship second round clash at McGann Park, Kenagh on Friday night. 

Fr Manning Gaels . . . 1-12     Carrickedmond . . . 0-12 

It was a cracking contest with little separating the sides until the Gaels struck to score the decisive only goal in the closing stages of the second half. Martin Cassidy and Conor Keenan linked up to create a clear-cut chance for Ryan Crowe in the 54th minute and he made no mistake in flicking the ball to the net from a few yards out.

There was no way back for a rattled Carrickedmond who were now 1-12 to 0-11 adrift and while they did close the gap with a point from Sean Kelly, time ran out for Stephen Coy’s side who must now beat Slashers in the remaining Group 3 fixture next weekend in their quest to qualify for the quarter-finals. 

The Gaels, on the other hand, will be hoping that Slashers avoid defeat and if that happens then the Drumlish/Ballinamuck side, the 2019 Intermediate champions, will reach the last eight in the Connolly Cup under the guidance of manager Jack Lynn. 

FR MANNING GAELS: Aiden Grey; JP Farrelly, Cian Brady, Mark Hughes; Mark Duffy, Liam Lynch, Emmet Noonan (0-1); Paddy Collum (0-3, one free), Sean Whelan; Cian Cassidy (0-1), Ryan Crowe (1-1), Anthony Kane (0-2); Conor Keenan, Eoin Keane (0-1), Martin Cassidy (0-3, two frees).

Subs:- Darren Farrelly for JP Farrelly (injured, 26 mins); Derek McCormack for C Cassidy (60 mins).

CARRICKEDMOND: Garret Higgins; Diarmuid Kelly, Padraig McGrath, Michael Cahill; Kyle Kenny (0-2), Kevin Moran, Enda Farrell; Barry O’Farrell, Paddy Farrell; Jonathan Keegan, Sean Kelly (0-3), Johnny Gerety (0-1); Eoghan McCormack (0-4, two frees), Rioch Farrell, Aidan McGuire (0-2, one free).

Subs:- Niall O’Farrell for P McGrath (injured, 14 mins); John O’Shea for R Farrell (40 mins); Jack Dempsey for J Keegan (40 mins). 

Referee: Patrick Maguire (St Mary’s Granard). 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.