Longford’s Cnoc Mhuire Granard battle back to win the North Leinster Senior ‘B’ title

Top Oil North Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘B’ Football Championship Final

top oil north  leinster senior B football championship

Aaron Smith on the attack for Cnoc Mhuire Granard against Ashbourne CS. Action from the North Leinster PPS Senior 'B' Football Championship final on Monday Picture: Declan Gilmore

Cnoc Mhuire Granard battled back from four points down midway through the second half to win the North Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘B’ football title for the first time with a single point to spare over Meath opponents Ashbourne Community School in the final at the Dunganny grounds, Trim on Monday.

Cnoc Mhuire Granard . . . 3-7

Ashbourne Community School (Meath) . . . 1-12

Credit to both teams who served up a good game of football in terrible conditions amid the torrential rain. Cnoc Mhuire had got back into contention in the 57th minute when Caolan O’Reilly fisted to the net for his second goal to leave the sides all square. 

Two minutes later the Granard school went ahead by three when Micheal Hynes found the net from a tight angle. 

Ashbourne fought back to convert a couple of dubious frees to close the gap to just a point but they couldn’t get the equalising score. 

Sheer hard work and character got the gutsy Cnoc Mhuire side over the line in a tense finish and they are now through to the Leinster Senior ‘B’ title decider against Castleknock CC, Dublin or Colaiste Choilm, Tullamore.  

CNOC MHUIRE GRANARD: Daire Madden; Mark Cunningham, Cian O’Reilly, Bryan Masterson; Mark O’Neill, Ciaran Scanlon, Cathal Gilligan; Connor Leonard, Caolan O’Reilly (2-0); Tiarnan Madden (0-3,3f), Jordan Martin (0-1), Aaron Smyth (0-1); Dara Sheridan, Ruairi Corcoran (0-1), Micheal Hynes (1-1,1f).

Subs:- Cormac Brady for R Corcoran (half-time); Matthew Shaughnessy for M O’Neill (42 mins); Ruairi Corcoran for A Smyth (47 mins); Mark O’Neill for C Gilligan (54 mins). 

ASHBOURNE CS: Ethan Tormey; Luke Barrett, David Carr, Rodney Jones; Evan Quinn, Conor Hartford, Brian Duignam (0-1); Killian Hogan (0-2,2f), Kevin Cully; Diarmuid Moriarty (0-5,2f), Sean Kinsella, Jamie Browne (0-1); Killian Hegarty (0-1), Jake Pope (0-1, f), Sam Hannigan (1-0).

Referee: Ciaran Gunning (Westmeath). 

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.