Longford’s Ballymahon Vocational School win the North Leinster Senior title

Top Oil North Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘C’ Football Championship Final

north leinster schools senior 'c' football final

Thomas Mount presenting the trophy to Eoghan McCormack (left) and Ethan Dolan, the joint captains of the Ballymahon VS team who won the North Leinster Senior 'C' football title Picture: Frank McGrath

Ballymahon Vocational School claimed a comprehensive win over Ardee Community School to win the North Leinster Senior ‘C’  football final in an entertaining encounter played in perfect conditions last Friday at the St Loman’s GAA grounds in Mullingar.

Ballymahon Vocational School . . . 3-13      Ardee Community School (Louth) . . . 1-9

1-3 struck from the boot of Shane Hanley, either side of the break, was crucial as the Ballymahon side claimed their first title at this grade with a 10 point win over their Louth opponents and now march on in the quest for more silverware - the overall Leinster ‘C’ title.  

BALLYMAHON VS: Conor Skelly (Cashel); Fionn Morgan (Carrickedmond), Ethan Dolan (Edgeworthstown), Sean McCormack (Carrickedmond); Patrick Murray (Carrickedmond, 0-1), Ronan Hanley (Tang, 0-1), Dylan Murtagh (Milltown); Shane Bawle (Ballymahon, 1-0), Adam Quinn (Carrickedmond); Jack Walshe (Ballymahon), Colm O’Rourke (Ballymore, 0-1), Eoghán McCormack (Carrickedmond, 0-3); Wayne Smith (Milltown), Conor Byrne (Ballynacarrigy, 0-2), Shane Hanley (Tang, 1-4, 1f).

Subs used:- Jack Doran (Ballynacarrigy, 11 mins); John McCormack (Carrickedmond, 49 mins, 1-1, goal from penalty). 

ARDEE CS: Shane Halpenny; Jason Crowley, Padraic McKenna, Finn Kelly; Bobby Butler, Tom Jackson (0-1), Michael Swan (1-0); Tiernan Corrigan (0-1), Jamie Ward; James McGillick, Carl Gillespie (0-2), Shane Carpenter; Sean Reynolds (0-1), Luke Matthews (0-4, 3f), Johnny Cummins.

Referee: Ken Daly (Westmeath).

Read this week’s Longford Leader for the full match report

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.