Monaghan beat Longford in the Philly McGuinness Cup U-20 Final

Under 20 Football Development League Final

philly mcguinness cup u-20 football league

Aidan McGuire on the attack for Longford against Monaghan in the U-20 Football League Philly McGuinness Cup Final in Mohill on Saturday Picture: Declan Gilmore

Boosted by a couple of crucial goals in the first half, Monaghan scored a comfortable win over Longford in the Under 20 Football Development League Philly McGuinness Cup Final at the Mohill GAA grounds on Saturday.

Monaghan . . . 3-11       Longford . . . 1-8

Minus senior players Joseph Hagan and Oran Kenny, along with the injured Keelan McGann and Richard Prior, Longford trailed by 2-4 to 0-4 at the break with Mattie Maguire and Jason Irwin getting the goals for Monaghan in the 9th and 17th minutes respectively

Donal Ledwith’s side were given a glimmer of hope after Dylan Farrell flicked the ball to the net in the 52nd minute but Monaghan (who were also without a few members of their squad) put the issue beyond all doubt a minute late when Irwin scored his second goal.

MONAGHAN: Eoghan Treanor; Jack Brannigan, Ryan O’Toole, Cormac McKenna (0-1); Darragh McElearney, Sean Treanor, Paudie Hughes (0-1); Tiernan Duffy (0-1), Gavin McPhillips; Jason Irwin (2-2), Andrew Woods (0-3, two frees), Tiernan McCourt; Tiernan McSkeane, Brendan Og Duffy, Mattie Maguire (1-0).

Subs:- Oisin O’Neill (0-3, two frees) for T McSkeane (41 mins); Niall McKenna for M Maguire (50 mins); James McCaughey for J Irwin (56 mins); Ciaran Duffy for E Treanor (60 mins).

LONGFORD: Eoin McGuinness (Longford Slashers); Jakub Kajan (Rathcline), Sean O’Sullivan (Sean Connolly’s), Jake Donnelly (Killoe Emmet Og); Dylan Glancy (Rathcline), James Moran (Killoe Emmet Og), Eoghan McCormack (Carrickedmond); Euan Finneran (Killoe Emmet Og), Tadhg McNevin (Longford Slashers); Dylan Farrell (St Brigid’s Killashee, 1-3, two frees), Niall Finneran (Killoe Emmet Og), Cian O Nuallain (Longford Slashers, 0-1); Jack Duggan (Clonguish), Aidan McGuire (Carrickedmond, 0-4, two frees), Kian Gilmore (Rathcline).

Subs:- Padraig Joyce (Mostrim) for N Finneran (50 mins); Aaron Farrell (Dromard) for J Duggan (55 mins). 

Referee: John Gilmartin (Sligo).    

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.