Longford U-20s meet Monaghan in the Philly McGuinness Cup Final

League title decider in Mohill this Saturday, throw-in 2pm

philly mcguinness cup u-20 football league

Jake Donnelly (Killoe) pictured in action for Longford against Fermanagh in the U-20 Football League game at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday last Picture: Syl Healy

The understrength Longford U-20 side sealed their place in the Philly McGuinness Cup Development League Final following a hard earned draw against Fermanagh at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday morning last.

Longford . . . 2-8       Fermanagh . . . 2-8 

With the Longford seniors playing Offaly in the O’Byrne Cup Final that afternoon, the U-20s were without Oran Kenny, Joseph Hagan, Eoghan McCormack and Aidan McGuire, while Richard Prior was injured.

Longford were dealt a blow in the 24th minute when forward Keelin McGann had to go off injured after suffering a facial injury following a late, off the ball challenge. 

Longford will now face Monaghan in the U-20 League final at Philly McGuinness Memorial Park in Mohill this Saturday, throw-in 2pm.  

Fermanagh made a promising  start to the game last weekend. At half-time they led by 1-5 to 1-2 and had been leading until the 59th minute when substitute Aaron Farrell found the back of the net to put Longford ahead by two. 

A fisted effort from Padraig Joyce put three between the sides but in stoppage time Fermanagh got a goal to leave the sides deadlocked at the final whistle.

LONGFORD: Eoin McGuinness; Jakub Kajan, Sean O’Sullivan, Diarmuid Kelly; Jake Donnelly, James Moran, Kian Gilmore; Euan Finneran, Conor Leonard; Niall Finneran (1-0), Dylan Farrell (0-1), Conor Keenan (0-1); Jack Duggan (0-1, free), Padraig Joyce (0-3), Keelin McGann (0-1)

Subs:- Cian O’Nualláin (0-1) for K McGann (injured, 24 mins); Tadhg McNevin for C Leonard (half-time); Aaron Farrell (1-0) for C Keenan (43 mins); Jonathan Borland for N Finneran (53 mins). 

FERMANAGH: Sean McNally; Luke Flanagan, Fergal Keenan, Aaron McManus; Eoin Melanophy, Ryan Cassidy, Glenn Treacy; Aaron Tierney (1-0), Brandon Horan (0-1); Pol McKervey (0-1), Gavin McGovern (1-0), Lorcan McKenna; Garvan Quigley (0-1), Sean Cassidy (0-2, 0-1 free), Conor Love (0-3, 0-1 free).

Subs:- Robbie McKenna for R Cassidy (half-time); Conor McAloon for C McKenna (53 mins). 

Referee: Brendan Healy (Roscommon). 

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.