Longford U-20s off to a good start with win over Sligo

Philly McGuinness Cup - Under 20 Football League Round 1

philly mcguinness cup u-20 football league

Eoghan McCormack pictured in action for Longford against Sligo in Round 1 of the Philly McGuinness Cup U-20 Football League at Allen Park on Saturday last Picture: Declan Gilmore

A fine first half performance paved the way for Longford’s fairly emphatic win over Sligo in the opening round of the Philly McGuinness Cup Under 20 Football League at Allen Park, Newtownforbes on Saturday.  

Longford . . . 4-11      Sligo . . . 2-8

Two goals from Dylan Farrell and another from Aidan McGuire left Longford in a very commanding 3-9 to 1-1 lead at the break and while there was no way back for sluggish Sligo they came a lot more into the game on the changeover in a determined bid to close the gap. 

Eoghan McCormack scored the fourth goal for Longford in the closing minutes of the match and Donal Ledwith’s side are away to Leitrim in Round 2 of this competition next weekend.   

LONGFORD: Eoin McGuinness (Longford Slashers); Jakub Kajan (Rathcline), Dario Cigliano (Mostrim), Sean O’Sullivan (Sean Connolly’s); Dylan Glancy (Rathcline), James Moran (Killoe Emmet Og), Eoghan McCormack (Carrickedmond, 1-1); Richard Prior (Rathcline), Euan Finneran (Killoe Emmet Og); Cian O Nuallain (Longford Slashers), Dylan Farrell (St Brigid’s Killashee, 2-0), Joseph Hagan (Dromard, 0-5, two marks); Keelin McGann (Kenagh, 0-1), Aidan McGuire (Carrickedmond, 1-0), Oran Kenny (Rathcline, 0-4, two frees, one mark).

Subs:- Niall Finneran (Killoe Emmet Og) for R Prior (49 mins); Jack Duggan (Clonguish) for K McGann (56 mins); Padraig Joyce (Mostrim) for D Farrell (56 mins); Jonathan Borland (Killoe Emmet Og) for E Finneran (58 mins); Diarmuid Kelly (Carrickedmond) for D Ciglianio (four minutes into stoppage time).   

SLIGO: Daniel Lyons; Tomas Taheny, Oisin McCann, Evan Lyons; Sean Carroll, Kevin O’Hara, Conor Finn; James Carroll, Dillon McDermott; Oisin O’Donnell, Red Og Murphy (1-2, one point from free), Jack Lavin (0-1); Joseph Keaney, Shane Duignan (1-1), Gavin Duffy (0-1, free). 

Subs used:- Alan Reilly (0-2, frees); Robbie Ryan; Gavin Gorman; Niall Murphy (0-1); Michael Jennings. 

Referee: Michael McGirl (Leitrim). 

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.