Clonguish U-18 ladies win the Longford Minor ‘A’ championship title

Ladies Football Minor ‘A’ Championship Final

ladies football minor 'A' championship final

The Clonguish U-18 ladies football team celebrate following their win over Carrickedmond in the Minor 'A' Championship Final at McGann Park in Kenagh on Sunday Picture: Syl Healy

Clonguish captain Ciara Healy was in terrific form as she kicked 11 points (6 frees) in the Ladies Football Minor ‘A’ Championship Final against Carrickedmond in McGann Park, Kenagh on Sunday.

Clonguish . . . 2-14     Carrickedmond . . . 1-7

Just a goal separated the sides at half-time with Clonguish leading by 2-4 to 1-4. On the changeover Healy kicked four points (two frees) without reply to put her side in control. 

Carrickedmond were awarded a penalty in the 46th minute but Lauren McGuire’s kick was saved by Clonguish keeper Bronagh Kirk who made a number of excellent saves throughout the game as her side ran out comfortable winners in the end. 

CLONGUISH: Bronagh Kirk; Ayo Alba, Kate Sweeney, Amy Burke; Ava Shannon, Teni Alba, Megan Glennon; Ciara Sutton, Ella Duggan (1-0); Katelyn McKeon (0-1), Bolu Alba, Hannah Glennon (0-1); Ciara Healy (0-11,0-6fs), Kamille Burke (1-1), Fabienne Flanagan.

Subs:- Emma Shannon for F Flanagan (half-time); Caitlin Mahon for A Shannon (37 mins).

CARRICKEDMOND: Siobhan Egan; Leah Shannon, Grace Esler, Erica Cahill O’Leary; Emer Dempsey, Aoife McCormack, Caoimhe McCormack; Ciara Mulligan, Casey McNamara; Sophie Freeman, Orla Farrell, Ellen Shannon; Caoimhe Mulvey (0-1), Lauren McGuire (1-6, 0-3fs), Emma McGuire.

Subs:- Kate Breslin for S Freeman (56 mins); Juliet Byrne for E Dempsey (58 mins); Kerry McNamara for E Cahill O’Leary (60 mins). 

Referee: Enda Murphy. 

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.