Killoe cruise to another Longford U-20 football championship success

The Rustic Inn Under 20 Football Championship Final

rustic inn u-20 football championship

Mostrim clubman John Coyle presenting the Kevin Hughes Cup to Niall Farrelly, captain of the victorious Killoe U-20 team, along with Longford GAA Vice-Chairperson Brid McGoldrick

Killoe won the Under 20 football championship title for the second year in succession when they cruised to a comprehensive win over Mostrim/Sean Connolly’s in a disappointing final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday.

Killoe Emmet Og . . . 1-12    Mostrim/Sean Connolly’s . . . 0-3

From the moment Cian Dooner scored the crucial goal for Emmet Og with just five minutes gone in the game, the pressure was on the amalgamation who ended up trailing by 1-3 to 0-3 at the break after shooting five wides. 

Tormented throughout the final by man of the match Eamon Keogh, the impressive Killoe attacker, it turned out to be a very frustrating experience for Mostrim/Sean Connolly’s who failed to register a score in the second half. 

Emmet Og gradually pulled away to win with ease in adding another nine points to their tally and could afford the luxury of kicking a total of eight wides on the changeover. 

KILLOE EMMET OG: Brian Carr; Emmet Igoe, Gavin Hughes, Darren Moffett; James Moran, Niall Farrelly, Conor Gilna; Jonathan Borland, Niall Finneran (0-1); Evan Farrelly, Euan Finneran, Enda Bracken; Shane McManus (0-2), Eamon Keogh (0-5), Cian Dooner (1-4, two points from frees).

Subs:- Eoin Smith for N Finneran (injured, 43 mins); Reece Leonard for E Bracken (57 mins). 

MOSTRIM/SEAN CONNOLLY’S: Evan Hogan; Matthew Shaughnessy, Sean O’Sullivan, Adam Kelly; Paddy Reynolds, Dylan Cassidy, Dario Cigliano; Enda Tully, Shane Campbell; John Doris, Ethan Dolan, Conor Blessington; Tiarnan Hussey, Padraig Joyce (0-2, one free), Daniel Reynolds (0-1, free). 

Subs:- Anthony Garvey for P Reynolds (20 mins); Evan Murphy for A Kelly (black card, 21 mins); Maitiu O’Donohoe for E Murphy (injured, half-time); P Reynolds for J Doris (black card, 55 mins). 

Referee: Patrick Maguire (St Mary’s Granard). 

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.