Longford JFC Final: Kenagh win the Junior Championship title

Junior Football Championship Final

junior football championship

Delighted Kenagh players Shane Doyle (captain) and Thomas McGann (man of the match award winner) pictured following the victory over Killoe in the Junior Championship Final.

A point from a free converted by Rory Connor in the third minute of stoppage time clinched the Junior Football Championship title for Kenagh in making an immediate return to the Intermediate grade.

Kenagh . . . 0-12       Killoe Emmet Og . . . 1-8

Killoe had battled back from four points down at half-time (0-6 to 0-2) in the county final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday to level matters and then took the lead in the 38th minute when Paul O’Hara shot over the bar.  

Kenagh recovered in having to work very hard for this success with full-back John Gill showing great fielding to catch Paddy Hughes ball in as the Emmet Og second string tried to engineer the equalising score in a frantic finish. 

KENAGH: James Rowan; Gary Kenny, John Gill, James Higgins; Shane Farrell, Shane Doyle, Graham Forbes; Alan Jones, Thomas McGann (0-3, 0-1f); Ian Farrell, David Jones, Ronan Hughes (0-1, f); Sean Canavan (0-1), Rory Connor (0-6, 0-3fs), Karl Farrell (0-1).

Subs:- Lee Ross Gill for S Canavan (38 mins), Damien Higgins for S Doyle (injured, 41mins), Brendan Wallace for I Farrell (55 mins). 

KILLOE EMMET OG: Brian Carr (0-1,’45); Emmet Igoe, Emmet Toher, Thomas Reilly; Conor Gilna, Paddy Hughes (0-1), Joe Maloney (0-1); David Kiernan, Ronan Keogh; Terry McCormack (0-1), Paul O’Hara (0-1), Niall Finneran; Ger Carberry, David Mimnagh (0-2), David McCarthy (1-0).

Subs:- Jonathan Borland (0-1) for J Maloney (22 mins); Reece Leonard for T Reilly (injured, 43 mins); Enda Bracken for G Carberry (two minutes into stoppage time); Cormac O’Reilly for D McCarthy (five minutes into stoppage time). 

Referee: Tony Gaffney (Mostrim). 

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.