Longford IFC Final: Goals crucial as Fr Manning Gaels capture the Gerry Hennessy Cup

Mulleady Group Intermediate Football Championship Final

mulleady group intermediate football championship

Jubliant Fr Manning Gaels forward Pauric Gill (who scored 1-3) pictured with manager Jack Lynn and selector Niall Mulleady following the win over Ballymahon in the Intermediate final.

Impressive Fr Manning Gaels beat Ballymahon in the Intermediate Football Championship Final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday to capture the Gerry Hennessy Cup.

Fr Manning Gaels . . . 2-14        Ballymahon . . . 0-11

A cracking goal from Pauric Gill in the 5th minute was the perfect start for the Drumlish/Ballinamuck side and when Conor Keenan (winner of the man of the match award) raced through on a penetrating run on his way to planting the ball in the back of the net in the 22nd minute, a fantastic finish, there was really no way back for Ballymahon.

Trailing by 2-5 to 0-7 at the break, things did not get any better for the south Longford side in the second half as they ended up losing by the wide margin of nine points. 

Ballymahon finished the match with 14 players when midfielder Kevin Diffley was sent-off in the 56th minute after receiving a second yellow card. 

FR MANNING GAELS: Paddy Collum (0-1, free); Darren Reilly, Cian Brady, Derek McCormack; Emmet Noonan (0-1), Gary Connell, Mark Hughes; Liam Lynch (0-1), Aaron Quinn; Dean Cosgrove (0-1), Darren Farrelly, Conor Keenan (1-2); Pauric Gill (1-3), Martin Cassidy (0-3, one free), Cian Cassidy.

Subs:- Cian Murphy for D Reilly (half-time); Anthony Keane (0-2) for C Cassidy (45 mins); Ryan Crowe for D Cosgrove (49 mins); David Collum for L Lynch (59 mins); Sean Whelan for A Quinn (60 mins); Eoin Keane for C Keenan (a minute into stoppage time).

BALLYMAHON: Dean Reilly; James Kenny, Matthew Daly, Mark McCormack; Brian Nevin, Emmet Finn, Ros Claffey; John Nevin (0-1), Kevin Diffley (0-1); Sean McMullen, Eddie Noonan (0-1), Joe Nevin; Kyle Fitzmaurice (0-8, three frees), Thomas Mulvihill, Mark Connor.

Subs:- Aaron Nally for B Nevin (26 mins); James Daly for M Connor (injured, 38 mins); Wayne Higgins for S McMullen (injured, 57 mins); Ken Lovell for Joe Nevin (60 mins).

Referee: Donal Kane (Young Grattans). 

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.