02 Jul 2022

Longford SFC: Slashers snatch late scores to overcome Abbeylara in reaching the county final

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Semi-Final

senior football championship 2019

Longford Slashers players celebrate their win over Abbeylara in the SFC semi-final on Sunday evening

Stoppage time scores from Sean Clarke and Andrew Kelly (free) saw Longford Slashers overcome Abbeylara in a dramatic finish to the Senior Football Championship semi-final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday evening. 

Longford Slashers . . . 0-11     Abbeylara . . . 0-10 

Abbeylara came from behind in producing a strong finish in the difficult wet conditions and appeared to be going through to the Connolly Cup title decider for the fifth year in succession when Cian Brady landed a wonderful lead point in the 60th minute.

But this generally young Slashers side are made of stern stuff in their refusal to accept defeat and after Sean Clarke squandered a great chance of the equaliser he made amends to shoot a wonderful score. 

A replay looked almost certain at this late stage but there was still time for some more drama and up stepped Andrew Kelly to convert a pressure free with virtually the last kick of the game as Slashers advanced to meet Killoe in the county final on Sunday 6 October. 

LONGFORD SLASHERS: Colm Farrell; Ronan Kenny, Barry Gilleran (0-1), Paddy Duggan;  Sean Clarke (0-3), Dermot Brady, Gerard Flynn (0-1); Peter Foy, Andrew Dalton; Andrew Kelly (0-4, three frees), Robbie Clarke, Conor Clarke; Ruairi Clarke (0-2), Niall Mulligan, Daire O’Brien.

Subs:- Cian Kavanagh for N Mulligan (35 mins); Darragh O’Connell for D O’Brien (47 mins); Robbie O’Connell for Robbie Clarke (56 mins).

ABBEYLARA: Gavin Kelly; Cormac Smyth, Colm P Smyth, Cathal Lynch; Aaron Dalton, PJ Masterson, Cian Brady (0-2); Fergal Battrim (0-1), Russell Brady; Barry McKiernan (0-1), Robbie Smyth (0-3, all frees), Bernard Crawford; Reece Reilly (0-2), Kevin Smyth, Padraig Berry.

Subs:- Michael McHugh for A Dalton (26 mins); Jason Kelly (0-1) for C Lynch (35 mins); Conor Berry for B Crawford (36 mins); Nigel Rabbitte for R Brady (41 mins). 

Referee: David Tiernan (Ardagh Moydow). 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.