Longford SFC: Slashers overcome Rathcline to reach the quarter-finals

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 3 - Round 3

senior football championship 2019

Conor Clarke on the ball for Longford Slashers in evading the challenge of Rathcline opponent James Carroll. Action from the SFC Group 3 clash in Newtowncashel. Photo: Declan Gilmore

Longford Slashers have made it through to the quarter-finals of the Senior Football Championship for the first time in three years following a fairly emphatic win over Rathcline at Pairc Chiarain in Newtowncashel on Friday evening.

Longford Slashers . . . 0-14       Rathcline . . . 0-8 

Slashers appeared to be in control after building up a comfortable 0-6 to 0-0 lead midway through the first half but Rathcline came storming back to close the gap to just a solitary point at the break, 0-8 to 0-7. 

Last year’s Intermediate champions were very much in contention to spring a surprise but Slashers regained the upper hand to outscore the Lanesboro lads 0-6 to 0-1 in the second half. 

Both teams ended the game with 14 players on the pitch with Ruairi Clarke dismissed for a second yellow card in the 49th minute while Rathcline’s Kevin Chapman received a straight red card in stoppage time.

Denis Connerton's side are now out of the championship and into the relegation play-offs with two clubs dropping down to the Intermediate grade next season. 

LONGFORD SLASHERS: Colm Farrell (0-1, '45'); Ronan Kenny, Dermot Brady (0-1), Conor Clarke; Paddy Duggan, Gerard Flynn (0-1), Sean Clarke (0-3); Andrew Dalton (0-2), Barry Gilleran (0-1); Andrew Kelly (0-2, frees), Niall Mulligan, Robbie Clarke (0-2, one free);  Ruairi Clarke (0-1), Peter Foy, Robbie O'Connell.

Subs:- Daire O'Brien for N Mulligan (injured, 40 mins); Darragh O'Connell for Robbie Clarke (injured, 53 mins); Brian Walsh for S Clarke (injured, 59 mins).

 RATHCLINE: David Mulvihill; David Rooney, Niall Keane, Jack Rooney; Cian Gilmore, Derek Casserly, Kevin Chapman; Shane Kenny (0-3, one free), Shane Casserly; Oisin O' Sullivan, Iarla O'Sullivan (0-1), Oran Kenny (0-3, two frees); James Hanley, Liam Connerton (0-1), James Carroll.

Subs:- Aaron Madden for O O'Sullivan (47 mins); Dylan Glancy for J Hanley (black card, 53 mins); Ryan Fallon for J Rooney (59 mins); Cillian Flood for D Casserly (59 mins).

Referee: Donal Kane (Young Grattans).


To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.