Longford SFC: Mullinalaghta come from behind to score comfortable win over Clonguish

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 1 - Round 2

senior football championship 2019

James McGivney on the ball for Mullinalaghta in this tussle with Clonguish opponent Ronan Sweeney. Action from the SFC Group 1 game at the Dromard grounds. Photo: Declan Gilmore

Mullinalaghta scored their second win in Group 1 of the Senior Football Championship when coming from behind to overcome Clonguish at the Dromard grounds on Saturday evening. 

Mullinalaghta St Columba’s . . . 0-16     Clonguish . . . 2-6   

The Longford and Leinster club champions were trailing by a point at the break, 1-4 to 0-6, with the Clonguish goal coming from a penalty converted by Chris Gordon, but St Columba’s took complete control in the second half to clinch their place in the quarter-finals. 

Clonguish could not repeat their first half performance and were under a lot of pressure on the changeover as Mullinalaghta moved up a couple of gears to lead by seven points at one stage, only to concede a late goal that was scored by Packie Molloy.

MULLINALAGHTA ST COLUMBA’S: Patrick Rogers; Luke Meehan, Patrick Fox, Simon Cadam; Shane Mulligan (0-2), Donie McElligott (0-1), Francis Mulligan; David McGivney (0-8, four frees), John Keegan (0-1); Gary Rogers (0-1), James McGivney, Aidan McElligott; Jayson Matthews (0-2), Conor McElligott, Brendan Fox (0-1).

Subs:- Michael Cunningham for J Matthews (52 mins); Conan Brady for L Meehan (55 mins); James Mooney for F Mulligan (56 mins); Aaron Earley for Conor McElligott (58 mins);  Cian McElligott for G Rogers (60 mins).

CLONGUISH: Declan McKenna; Neil Devlin, Ronan Sweeney, Darren McLoughlin; Conor Shields, Francis Molloy, Gerard Moore; Peter Hanley (0-1), Michael Corcoran; Packie Molloy (1-0), Alan Gregg (0-1, free), Niall O’Reilly (0-1); Chris Gordon (1-0, penalty), Joe O’Brien (0-3, one free), Paul Barden.

Subs:- Kevin Burke for J O’Brien (injured, 14 mins); Michael McCann for G Moore (black card, 45 mins); Brian Sweeney for M Corcoran (52 mins). 

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Ballymahon). 

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.