Granard beat Ballymore to consolidate top spot in the Division 2 league

All County Football League Division 2 - Round 5

all county football league division 2

Darren Gallagher on the ball for Granard with Ballymore opponent Mark Keogh in pursuit. Action from the Division 2 football league game at the Ballybrien grounds. Photo: Syl Healy

The inspirational Darren Gallagher was in impressive form as St Mary’s Granard made it five wins from five fixtures in Division 2 with an emphatic victory over their near neighbours Ballymore at the Ballybrien grounds on Saturday evening.

St Mary’s Granard . . . 1-14      Ballymore . . . 0-7

Granard were relegated from Division 1 last season but under the guidance of Ryan Casey and Ger Carberry the north Longford side have been impressive at the top of Division 2 in their quest to capture the Michael Moran Cup in the build up to the county senior championship in the summer.  

Ballymore, who trailed by 0-7 to 0-4 at the break, ended the game with 14 players after Bernard McElvaney was sent off for a second yellow card in the 54th minute. Granard went 13 points ahead after that but Ballymore ended the game with  three pointed frees.

ST MARY’S GRANARD: Dessie Kiernan; Eoin Higgins, Brian Sheridan, Edward Smyth; Keith Kelly, Dylan Corcoran, Mark O’Neill; Darren Gallagher (1-7, three frees, goal from penalty), Thomas Gallagher (0-1); Paul Smyth (0-2), Mark Tully, Eoin Sheridan; Jordan Martin (0-4), Conor Mallon, Ben Martin.

Subs:- Jordan Shiels for B Martin (42 mins); David Callaghan for C Mallon (44 mins); Mark Connell for E Sheridan (53 mins); James Kiernan for P Smyth (53 mins); Fergus Kelly for T Gallagher (54 mins); James Blake for D Gallagher (56 mins).

BALLYMORE:  Alan Kiernan; Philip Dawson, John Kavanagh, Peter Walker; Cian O’Hara, Donal McElvaney, Mark Keogh; Padraig Kavanagh (0-1), Bernard McElvaney; David Reilly, Liam Gorman, Ciaran Reilly (0-1, free); Glen Kelly (0-2, frees), Damien Monaghan (0-2, frees), Mattie Gorman (0-1).

Subs:- Andy Kelly for C Reilly (injured, 47 mins); Aaron Hourican for D Reilly (55 mins); Pete McNerney for M Keogh (59 mins).

Referee: Michael Farrell (Ballymahon).

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.