Longford’s Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School boys beaten in All-Ireland Senior ‘C’ semi-final

All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘C’ Football Championship Semi-Final

all-ireland schools senior 'C' semi-final

Jamie Bermingham on the attack for Mercy Ballymahon SS against Patrician Academy, Mallow in the All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools Senior 'C' semi-final. Picture: Syl Healy

Mercy Ballymahon’s quest for All-Ireland glory ended on Tuesday evening when they were defeated by the excellent Patrician Academy from Mallow in the Senior Football ‘C’ semi-final played in difficult wet and extremely windy conditions at Heywood Community School (Laois) 3G pitch.

Patrician Academy, Mallow . . . . . . . . . . .  5-8

Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School . . . . 1-9

Ballymahon SS captured two titles (North Leinster and Leinster) the previous week against all the odds, playing two games in three days, but on this occasion they just couldn’t repeat those heroics as they bowed out of the All-Ireland championship.

The Cork school played with the aid of the very strong wind in the first half and held an 11 point lead at half-time, 2-7 to 0-2, to leave Ballymahon SS facing a real uphill battle on the changeover.

Ballymahon SS tried hard to stage a comeback on the changeover, with Jamie Bermingham scoring a goal in the early stages of the second half, but mighty Mallow added three more goals to their tally to book their place in the All-Ireland ‘C’ Final.

 PATRICIAN ACADEMY MALLOW: Josh Murphy; Oisin Carroll, Niall O’Riordan, Sean Kelly; Jack Hadden (0-1), Colm O’Shea, Brian O’Sullivan (0-1); Eanna O’Hanlon (1-1), Kieran Twomey; Jack Dillon (0-1,f), Barry O’Shea (0-1), Eoin Kelleher (1-1); Ben O’Connor (0-1), Conor McMahon (0-1), Conor Corbett (3-0).

Subs:- Kevin O’Mahony for B O’Shea (black card, 29 mins); Ciaran O’Sullivan for C O’Shea (black card, 57 mins).

MERCY BALLYMAHON SECONDARY SCHOOL:  Bryn Peters; Ronan Keane, Matthew Gunning, Cian Belton; Conall McKiernan, Jason Coughlan, Diarmuid Kelly (0-1); Richard Prior, Sam Maxwell (0-3); Jamie Bermingham (1-0), Kian Gilmore, Rory Howlin; Oran Kenny, Dylan Farrell (0-4,1f), Kevin Tansey (0-1).

Subs:- Luke Gunning for J Bermingham and Dylan Coady for R Howlin (51 mins); Cronan Flood for K Tansey (58 mins); Aidan Ryan for D Kelly (three minutes into stoppage time).

Referee: Seamus Mulhaire (Laois).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.