Longford’s Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School crowned Leinster Senior ‘C’ champions

Top Oil Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘C’ Football Championship Final

leinster schools senior 'C' football

Kian Gilmore (Rathcline) on the ball for Mercy Ballymahon SS against Bagenalstown SS (Carlow) in the Leinster Schools Senior 'C' Football Final on Wednesday evening. Photo: Syl Healy

Mercy Ballymahon overcame adversity to put in a heroic performance to claim the Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘C’ football title with a narrow win over Presentation De la Salle, Bagenalstown (Carlow) in the final  on Wednesday evening.

Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School . . . . . . . . . . . . 0-11

Presentation De la Salle Bagenalstown (Carlow) . . . 0-10

Playing their second game in the space of three days the Ballymahon SS boys  showed true grit and determination to emerge victorious on the 3G pitch at Heywood Community School, Co Laois.

Having opened the scoring they found themselves trailing by three points midway through the first half and also by the same margin in the second half.

Ballymahon SS had Conall McKiernan sent off for a second yellow card in the 53rd minute. Presentation’s Jack McCullagh was also sent-off minutes from the end just before Sam Maxwell scored the point that won the game for the Ballymahon bravehearts who can now look forward to the All-Ireland semi-final against the Munster champions on a date to be confirmed. 

 MERCY BALLYMAHON SECONDARY SCHOOL: Eanna McGrath; Ronan Keane, Matthew Gunning, Kian Gilmore; Cian Belton, Jason Coughlan, Diarmuid Kelly; Richard Prior (0-1), Sam Maxwell (0-1); Jamie Bermingham, Luke Gunning, Rory Howlin (0-2); Oran Kenny (0-3, two frees), Dylan Farrell (0-2, one free), Kevin Tansey (0-1).

Subs:- Bryn Peters for E McGrath (half-time); Conall McKiernan (0-1) for L Gunning (half-time).

PRESENTATION DE LA SALLE BAGENALSTOWN: Cian Kavanagh; Jamie Doyle, Tadhg Roche, PJ Haughney; Patrick McDonnell, Richie Whelan, Jordan Kelly; Jack McCullagh (0-1), Cormac Lomax (0-1); Kieran Collins (0-1), Padraig Hynes (0-6, five frees), Jason Daly; Aidan Lillis (0-1, free), Colin Byrne, Darragh Nolan.

Subs:- James Cummins for K Collins (49 mins); Fiach O’Toole for D Nolan (58 mins).

Referee: Owen Murphy (Kildare).

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.