Title holders Naas CBS knock out Longford opponents St Mel’s College

Top Oil Leinster Schools Senior ‘A’ Football Championship Knockout Stage - Round 1

Leinster Schools Senior A Football Championship

Cian Dooner pictured in action for St Mel's College in the previous round of the Leinster Schools Senior 'A' Championship against Marist College, Athlone.

St Mel’s College found the going too tough against the title holders Naas CBS in the Leinster Schools Senior ‘A’ Football Championship clash on Friday.

Naas CBS . . . 2-18     St Mel’s College . . . 1-9

Raheens GAA grounds in Naas was the venue for the Knockout Stage Round 1 game and there was little separating the sides at the end of the first quarter with St Mel’s trailing by just the minimum of margins, 0-4 to 0-3.

Soon after Naas CBS scored a crucial goal and ended up in a comfortable 1-7 to 0-5 lead at the break. Cian Dooner scored three of the St Mel’s points in the first half with Killoe clubmates Jake Donnelly and Euan Finneran also on target.

It was always going to be a real uphill battle for the Longford college on the changeover with the superior Naas side stepping up another gear in clocking up a further 1-11 on their way to a most emphatic victory in the finish.

St Mel’s, making their exit from the Leinster championship, added 1-4 to their tally in the second half with Cian Cassidy (Fr Manning Gaels) scoring the goal while all four points were fired over by chief marksman Cian Dooner.

NAAS CBS: David Morrissey; John Lawler, Conall O’Gallachobhair, Jack Hamill; Kevin Quinn, Kevin Kelleher (0-1), Paddy McDermott; Jack Cleary, Eoin Archbold; Drew Costello, Alex Beirne (0-1), Simon Murphy (0-3); Dermot Hanafin (1-2), Eoin Conneff (0-1), Mikey McGovern (0-7, three frees).

Subs:- Adam Byrne (1-3) for E Conneff (15 mins): Liam Broderick for E Archbold (40 mins);  Murray O’Byrne for K Quinn (50 mins); Conor Murphy for S Murphy (60 mins).

ST MEL’S COLLEGE: Eoin McGuinness (Longford Slashers); Paulis Merkelis (Longford Slashers), Dario Cigliano (Mostrim), Darren Moffett (Killoe); Cian O’Nuallain (Longford Slashers), James Moran (Killoe), Sean O’Sullivan (Sean Connolly's); Euan Finneran (Killoe, 0-1), Tadhg McNevin (Longford Slashers); Diarmuid Sheehan (Longford Slashers), Darragh O’Connell (Longford Slashers), Daniel Reynolds (Sean Connolly's); Jake Donnelly (Killoe, 0-1), Cian Cassidy (Fr Manning Gaels, 1-0), Cian Dooner (Killoe, 0-7, four frees).

Subs:- Mario Pirlog (Longford Slashers - Blood replacement); Shane Gilna (Killoe); Tiarnan Hussey (Mostrim); Jack Duggan (Clonguish); Kevin Gregg (Clonguish); Maitiu O’Donohoe (Mostrim); Enda Bracken (Killoe); Gary Hanley (Clonguish). 

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.