Cian Gilmore scores nine points as Rathcline/Grattans win Longford U-20 ‘B’ title

The Rustic Inn Under 20 ‘B’ Football Championship (13-A-Side) Final

Deniese O'Flaherty


Deniese O'Flaherty


U-20 'B' Football Final

Rathcline/Grattans forward Rory Howlin wins the ball in this tussle with Carrickedmond defender Michael Cahill. Action from the U-20 'B' Football Championship Final. Photo: Syl Healy

Cian Gilmore scored nine points (four frees) in a tremendous performance as Rathcline/Grattans overcame Carrickedmond to capture the inaugural U-20 ’B’ Football Championship title at McGann Park, Kenagh on Friday night.

Rathcline/Grattans . . . 2-13      Carrickedmond 1-14

It was a fine display from the amalgamation who were beaten last season in the U-21 ‘B’ Final but made amends this year in the new competition against a fancied Carrickedmond side.

Rathcline/Grattans were dealt a huge blow in the first half when key forward Oran Kenny had to retire in the 20th minute due to concussion sustained in a clash but they showed a lot of character to emerge victorious

Rathcline/Grattans led by 1-6 to 0-8 at half-time with Eoin Kelly flicking the ball to the net just before the break while Iarla O’Sullivan scored the decisive second goal in the 53rd minute.  

RATHCLINE/GRATTANS: Conor Gallagher; Padraig Sorohan, Owen Murray; Niall Keane, Stephen Farrell, Cillian Flood; Cronan Flood, Iarla O’Sullivan (1-2); Dylan Glancy, Rory Howlin, Cian Gilmore (0-9, four frees); Oran Kenny (0-2, frees), Eoin Kelly (1-0).

Subs:- Daniel Curran for O Kenny (injured, 20 mins); James Gavigan for P Sorohan (57 mins).

CARRICKEDMOND: Jack Kane; Peter Dempsey, Sean Keenan; Patrick Murray, Michael Cahill, Justin McCormack; Enda Farrell (0-1), Eoghan McCormack (0-3, two frees); Adam Quinn (0-2), Kyle Kenny (1-3), Shane McGoey; Jack Dempsey (0-1), Aidan McGuire (0-4, three frees).

Referee: Aidan Dowler (Moydow Harpers).