Carrickedmond overcome Rathcline to win a second Longford league title this season

All County Football League Division 2 (Top Four) - Patsy Reilly Cup Final

Patsy Reilly Cup Final

John Lenehan on the ball for Carrickedmond in this tussle with Rathcline opponent Iarla O'Sullivan. Action from the Patsy Reilly Cup Final at McGann Park, Kenagh on Sunday. Photo: Syl Healy

Having already collected the Michael Moran Cup this season for winning the All County Football League Division 2 title outright, Carrickedmond captured the Patsy Reilly Cup with a comprehensive win over Rathcline at McGann Park, Kenagh on Sunday.

Carrickedmond . . . 3-13        Rathcline . . . 1-9

Success in the final of the Division 2 top four competition completed a league double for Maurice O’Connor’s side who were in total control from the moment Aidan McGuire got their second goal from a penalty with ten minutes gone in the second half following a foul on John O’Shea.

Carrickedmond were now in a comfortable 2-9 to 1-6 lead and they ended up beating Rathcline by the emphatic margin of ten points in the finish with substitute Padraig O’Shea shooting to the net in the closing stages of the match.

A well-taken goal from Sean Kelly in the 17th minute left Carrickedmond leading by 1-5 to 0-2 and they were the superior side on their way to another league title triumph.

CARRICKEDMOND: Gareth Higgins; Padraig McGrath (0-1), Johnny Gerety, Cathal Pearse Belton; Justin McCormack, Barry O’Farrell, Michael Cahill; John O’Shea (0-1), Enda Farrell;  Rioch Farrell (0-3, all frees), Sean Kelly (1-1), Keith McGuire; Aidan McGuire (1-4, goal from penalty, two points from frees), Paddy Farrell, Kyle Kenny (0-1).

Subs:- John Lenehan (0-2, one free) for K McGuire (half-time); Michael Higgins for S Kelly (49 mins); Padraig O’Shea (1-0) for J Gerety (55 mins); Niall O’Farrell for P McGrath (59 mins); Jack Dempsey for E Farrell (59 mins); Robbie Harrison for A McGuire (60 mins).

RATHCLINE: Eanna McGrath; Daniel Curran, Michael Morrissey, Kevin Chapman; Niall Keane, Kevin Sorohan, Kian Gilmore; Neil O’Connor, Shane Kenny (1-2, one point from free); Cillian Flood, Shane Donohue, Iarla O’Sullivan; Dylan Glancy, Liam Connerton (0-4, three frees), Oran Kenny (0-3, one free).  

Subs:- Owen Murray for D Curran (injured, 23 mins); Derek Casserly for Cillian Flood (28 mins); Cronan Flood for N O’Connor (47 mins); James Hanley for D Glancy (58 mins); Padraig Sorohan for O Kenny (60 mins).

Referee: Michael Farrell (Ballymahon).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.