Longford hurler Johnny Casey honoured with Nicky Rackard/Lory Meagher All-Star Award

Major GAA event in Dublin’s Convention Centre

Nicky Rackard Cup All-Star

Longford hurler Johnny Casey is presented with his Nicky Rackard Cup Champion 15 Award by GAA President John Horan and GPA CEO Paul Flynn at the PwC All Stars event. Pic: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Longford Slashers hurler Johnny Casey has been honoured with his selection on the 2018 Nicky Rackard Cup/Lory Meagher Cup Champion 15.

In recognition of his fine displays for the Longford hurlers in the Nicky Rackard Cup this season, Clondra native Johnny received his award as part of the PwC All-Stars event in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday night which was broadcast live on RTE 1. 

The Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Champion 15 is evenly spread across 11 different counties.

Uachtarán CLG John Horan congratulated the winners and said: “We play a team game but we have always been moved by the exceptional performances that have stood out and contributed to the rich culture of Laochra Gael that we celebrate on an occasion such as this.

“The McDonagh, Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cups are dedicated to GAA legends; people who are synonymous with hurling, with its greatness and in their dedication to it. I congratulate the Champion 15 selections that have been made. They are all worthy of the prestigious honour that has been bestowed upon them and it’s a great occasion for them, their families and the clubs who helped produce them.”

It has been a memorable few weeks for Johnny Casey who earned the proud distinction of lining-out for Ireland in the recent Senior Hurling-Shinty International against Scotland at Bught Park, Inverness. Johnny plays his club football with St Brigid’s Killashee.

Nicky Rackard & Lory Meagher Champion 15

Nicky Rackard, Donegal, Declan Coulter

Nicky Rackard, Donegal, Stephen Gillespie

Nicky Rackard, Warwickshire, Shane Caulfield

Nicky Rackard, Warwickshire, Niall McKenna

Nicky Rackard, Tyrone, Dermot Begley

Nicky Rackard, Monaghan, Kevin Crawley

Nicky Rackard, Louth, Stephen Kettle

Nicky Rackard, Longford, Johnny Casey

Nicky Rackard, Leitrim, Declan Molloy

Lory Meagher, Sligo, James Weir

Lory Meagher, Sligo, Gary Cadden

Lory Meagher, Lancashire, Ronan Crowley

Lory Meagher, Lancashire, Edmond Kenny

Lory Meagher, Fermanagh, Ryan Bogue

Lory Meagher, Cavan, Kevin Connelly

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.