Carrick Sarsfields win the Longford Minor ‘B’ football championship title

Herterich’s Butchers Minor (U-18) ‘B’ Football Championship Final (13-A-Side)

minor 'B' football championship final

Adam Quinn on the ball for Carrick Sarsfields ahead of Western Gaels opponent Seadna Ryan. Action from the Minor 'B' Championship Final at McGann Park, Kenagh. Photo: Syl Healy

Carrick Sarsfields were crowned the Minor ‘B’ champions in a cracking final at McGann Park in Kenagh on Wednesday night with Eoghan McCormack landing the winning point from a free in stoppage time.

Carrick Sarsfields . . . 0-19       Western Gaels . . . 1-15

 The outcome of this highly entertaining 13-a-side encounter was in the balance right up until the final whistle with Western Gaels looking the likely winners when Kian Gilmore surged forward to score a goal in the 56th minute.

 That left the Rathcline/Grattans amalgamation leading by 1-15 to 0-16 with time running out but the Carrickedmond/Legan side came storming back with three points in a row through Jack Dempsey, Aidan McGuire (free) and McCormack to capture the Glenn Brady Memorial Cup.

CARRICK SARSFIELDS: Darragh Gunshinan; Sean McCormack, James Reilly; Diarmuid Kelly, Patrick Murray (0-2, '45' and free), Peter Dempsey (0-1); Eoghan McCormack (0-5, four frees), Sean Donohoe; Adam Quinn (0-1), Jack Dempsey (0-8), Sam Ward; Aidan McGuire (0-1, free), Patrick Cahill (0-1).

 Subs:- Sean Horgan for S Ward (28 mins); Blaine Murphy for J Reilly (half-time).

 WESTERN GAELS: Bryn Peters; Dean O'Reilly, Brian Casey; Jakub Kajan, Kian Gilmore (1-1), Liam Ross; Misko Kajan (0-1), Cronan Flood; Eanna McGrath, Rory Howlin (0-3), Richard Prior; Oran Kenny (0-9, four frees), Dylan Glancy (0-1).

 Sub:- Seadna Ryan for E McGrath (half-time).

 Referee: Frank Toher (Killoe Emmet Og).


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.