11 Aug 2022

Longford SFC: Clonguish far too strong for Ballymahon

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 1 - Round 3

2018 Longford Senior Football Championship

Conor Shields on the ball for Clonguish in this tussle with Ballymahon opponent Sean McMullen. Action from the SFC Group 1 game at McGann Park, Kenagh. Photo: Declan Gilmore

Clonguish experienced little difficulty in making sure of their place in the Senior Football Championship quarter-finals when they cruised to a very easy win over prime relegation candidates Ballymahon in the Group 1 clash at McGann Park, Kenagh on Saturday evening.

Clonguish . . . 1-20      Ballymahon . . . 1-7

Ballymahon trailed by 1-9 to 1-3 at the break with the Clonguish goal materialising in the 30th minute when Joe O’Brien flicked the ball to the net from close range.

The south Longford side launched an immediate counter-attack when Kyle Fitzmaurice weaved his way through to score a well-taken goal but things went from bad to worse for them in the second half.

Ballymahon were reduced to 14 players with six minutes gone on the changeover when John Nevin was sent-off after receiving a second yellow card and they ended up losing by the wide margin of 13 points.   

CLONGUISH: Declan McKenna; Darragh McLoughlin (0-1), John O’Brien, Neil Devlin; Darren Quinn (0-4, one free), Chris Gordon (0-2), Stephen McLoughlin; Peter Hanley, Stephen Watters; Conor Shields (0-1), Ian McCormack, Francie Molloy; Kevin Burke (0-3), David Barden (0-1), Joe O’Brien (1-6, three points from frees).

Subs:- Shane O’Brien (0-1) for D Barden (half-time); Mikie McGuinness (0-1) for C Shields (injured, 36 mins); Packie Molloy for S Watters (42 mins); Michael Corcoran for Joe O’Brien (50 mins); Gerry Moore for P Hanley (injured, 52 mins).  

BALLYMAHON: Paul Walsh; Brian Nevin, James Kenny, Mark McCormack; Sean McMullen, John Nevin, Matthew Daly; Jack Fox, Thomas Mulvihill; Emmet Finn, Colm Flynn (0-4, three frees), Ros Claffey (0-1); Aaron Nally, Mark Connor, Kyle Fitzmaurice (1-1, point from ‘45).

Subs:- James Daly for B Nevin (14 mins); Eddie Noonan for J Fox (half-time); Charlie Byrne (0-1) for A Nally (43 mins); B Nevin and J Fox for M Connor and K Fitzmaurice (48 mins).

Referee: Donal Kane (Young Grattans).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.