Longford IFC: Impressive Ballymore get the better of Rathcline

Mulleady Group Intermediate Football Championship Group 1 - Round 5

Intermediate Football Championship

Bernard McElvaney surging forward for Ballymore in evading the challenge of Rathcline opponent Michael Morrissey. Action from the IFC Group 1 game at the Monaduff grounds. Photo: Syl Healy

Ballymore produced their best performance for quite some time to score a surprise win over Rathcline in the Intermediate Football Championship clash at the Monaduff grounds, Drumlish on Sunday evening.

Ballymore . . . 1-14       Rathcline . . . 0-11

Already qualified Rathcline started without their county players Liam Connerton (injured), Shane Donohue and Shane Kenny and now have to settle for a place in the quarter-finals with neighbouring rivals Cashel providing the opposition.

Ballymore advance instead to the last four on the head-to-head regulation after the teams finished on the same number of points at the top of the Group 1 table.

Mickey O’Connor’s side led by 0-9 to 0-7 at the break and then struck a real killer blow when Ciaran Reilly put Glen Kelly clean through for a well-taken goal with four minutes gone in the second half.

BALLYMORE: Mattie McCrann; Philip Dawson, Ciaran Fahy, Peter Walker; Cian O’Hara, Mattie Gorman (0-3), Mark Keogh; Donal McElvaney, Bernard McElvaney (0-1); Ciaran Reilly (0-1), Damien Monaghan (0-5, three frees), Padraig Kavanagh; Liam Gorman (0-2), Glen Kelly (1-2), Andy Kelly.

Sub:- Mel Creegan for A Kelly (39 mins).

RATHCLINE: David Rooney; Niall Keane, Kevin Chapman, Owen Murray; Daniel Curran, Kevin Sorohan, Eamon Farrell; Derek Casserly, Michael Morrissey; Cillian Flood, Iarla O’Sullivan (0-1), Ryan Fallon (0-1); Oran Kenny (0-6, two frees), Aaron Madden (0-1, free), James Hanley.

Subs:- Shane Donohue (0-1) for A Madden (half-time); Michael Hanley for O Murray (half-time); Shane Casserly for D Casserly (half-time); Shane Kenny (0-1) for R Fallon (35 mins); Neil O’Connor for E Farrell (39 mins); Dylan Glancy for J Hanley (43 mins).

Referee: David Tiernan (Moydow Harpers).


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.