Longford SFC: Shane O’Brien goal the matchwinner for Clonguish against Mostrim

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 1 - Round 2

2018 Longford Senior Football Championship

Darren Quinn surging forward for Clonguish ahead of Mostrim opponent Daniel Connell. Action from the SFC Group 1 game in Granard on Sunday evening. Photo: Declan Gilmore

A goal from substitute Shane O’Brien with ten minutes of the match remaining clinched the victory for Clonguish over Mostrim in the Senior Football Championship Group 1 clash at the Higginstown grounds, Granard on Sunday evening.

Clonguish . . . 1-8      Mostrim . . . 0-6

Mostrim kept with Clonguish for long spells but in the space of three minutes O’Brien scored a point and then followed that up with the goal that proved decisive in the eventual outcome.

Leading by 0-6 to 0-4 at the break, Clonguish were dealt a huge blow just before half-time when key forward Ciaran Williams sustained a serious ankle injury but his side managed to stay in front throughout the second half.  

CLONGUISH: Declan McKenna; Dara McLoughlin, John O’Brien, Neil Devlin; Francie Molloy, Darren Quinn (0-1), Chris Gordon; Peter Hanley, Stephen Watters; Kevin Burke, Conor Shields (0-1), Stephen McLoughlin; Mikey McGuinness, Ciaran Williams (0-1), Joe O’Brien (0-4, all frees).

Subs:- Ian McCormack for C Williams (injured, half-time); Shane O’Brien (1-1) for John O’Brien (37 mins); Packie Molloy for Joe O’Brien (54 mins); Alan Gregg for S O’Brien (black card, a minute into stoppage time); Michael Corcoran for M McGuinness (two minutes into stoppage time).

MOSTRIM: Ciaran Garvey; Shane Sheridan, Sean Noone, Aaron Gallagher; Niall Quinn, Bernard Dempsey, Shane Campbell; Sean Noonan (0-1), Seamus Hannon; Daniel Connell, Gerard Smyth, Shane Kiernan; Brian Farrell, Cillian Lynn (0-3, one free), Darragh Doherty (0-2, frees).

Subs:- Fintan Coyle for S Noonan (39 mins); David Morgan for B Dempsey (50 mins); Martin Coyle for S Kiernan (54 mins); Evan Murphy for D Connell (56 mins); Joe Dempsey for D Doherty (60 mins).

Referee: Ger Carberry (Killoe Emmet Og).

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.