18 Aug 2022

Longford SFC: Colmcille score comprehensive win over Carrickedmond

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 2 - Round 2

2018 Longford Senior Football Championship

Declan Reilly on the ball for Colmcille with Carrickedmond opponent Sean Kelly closing in to challenge. Action from the SFC Group 2 game at Keenan Park on Friday evening. Photo: Syl Healy

Colmcille bounced back from the heavy defeat against Mullinalaghta in the opening round to score a comprehensive win over Carrickedmond in the Senior Football Championship Group 2 clash at Keenan Park, Ardagh on Friday evening.

Colmcille . . . 4-13     Carrickedmond . . . 1-11

Back in action after recovering from injury, the influential Barry McKeon fired over a total of six points and Cathal McCabe also impressed to score a couple of goals as Colmcille gradually asserted their superiority in a very one-sided second half.  

Carrickedmond looked to have a good chance of springing a surprise when they raced into a 1-4 to 0-1 lead with nine minutes gone in the game after Kyle Kenny scored a well-taken goal but Colmcille hit back immediately when Ruairi Harkin stuck the ball in the back of the net.

The Carrick advantage was cut to just the minimum of margins at the break, 1-7 to 1-6, and from the moment Cathal McCabe weaved his way through to score a cracking goal in the 37th minute to put Colmcille in front for the first time the outcome was never in any doubt.

Further goals followed from Alan McKeon and McCabe as Colmcille outscored Carrickedmond 3-7 to 0-4 in the second half.

COLMCILLE: Mattie Kavanagh; Martin Mulligan, Gerard Mulligan, Alan McKeon (1-0); Declan Reilly, Kieran Brady, Noel Farrell (0-4, three frees); John Paul Reilly (0-1), Fergal Sheridan; Barry McKeon (0-6, one free), Cormac Hughes, Cathal Reilly; Cathal McCabe (2-0), Paul McKeon (0-1), Ruairi Harkin (1-0).

Subs:- Declan Farrell for F Sheridan (injured, 22 mins); Rory Hawkins (0-1) for C Hughes (46 mins); Ciaran McKeon for R Harkin (51 mins); Colin Farley for N Farrell (injured, 56 mins).

CARRICKEDMOND: David Shannon (0-2, ‘45’s); Johnny Gerety, Kevin Moran, Cathal P Belton; Justin McCormack (0-1), Padraig O’Shea, Michael Cahill; Enda Farrell, John O’Shea (0-1); Rioch Farrell (0-1), Sean Kelly (0-1), Barry O’Farrell; Kyle Kenny (1-2), John Lenehan (0-1), Aidan McGuire (0-2, one free).

Subs:- Padraig McGrath for J O’Shea (44 mins); Jonathan Keegan for R Farrell (50 mins); Mark McDonnell for J Lenehan (53 mins); Niall O’Farrell for P O’Shea (56 mins).

Referee: David Tiernan (Moydow Harpers).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.