Longford SFC: Title holders Mullinalaghta far too strong for Colmcille

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 2 - Round 1

2018 Longford Senior Football Championship

Rian Brady on the ball for Mullinalaghta in this tussle with Colmcille opponent Alan McKeon. Action from the SFC Round 1 game at Maguire Park, Ballinalee on Friday evening. Photo: Declan Gilmore

Title holders Mullinalaghta scored a comprehensive win over Colmcille in the Senior Football Championship Round 1 clash at Maguire Park, Ballinalee on Friday evening.  

Mullinalaghta St Columba’s . . . 2-17      Colmcille . . . 0-8

The wide margin of 15 points separated the sides in the finish with Aidan McElligott (47th minute) and Rian Brady (56th minute) scoring the goals for St Columba’s in a very one-sided second half.

Minus the injured Barry McKeon which was a big blow, Colmcille were quite competitive in the first half with the sides deadlocked at 0-2 apiece with 20 minutes gone in the game but the underdogs were guilty of shooting a few wides.

Mullinalaghta gradually got on top to lead by four points at the break (0-6 to 0-2) and pulled right away on the changeover in clocking up a further 2-11 to run out most emphatic winners.

St Columba’s ended the game with 14 players as full-back Patrick Fox was sent-off after receiving a second yellow card in the 53rd minute.

MULLINALAGHTA ST COLUMBA’S: Patrick Rogers; Simon Cadam, Patrick Fox, Conan Brady; Shane Mulligan (0-1), Donal McElligott, Francis Mulligan; David McGivney (0-3, two frees), John Keegan (0-1); Gary Rogers (0-3), James McGivney (0-1), Aidan McElligott (1-3); Michael Cunningham (0-1), Rian Brady (1-4), Conor McElligott.

Subs:- Brendan Fox for C McElligott (38 mins); Luke Meehan for M Cunningham (54 mins); Aaron Earley for F Mulligan (58 mins).  

COLMCILLE: Mattie Kavanagh; Martin Mulligan, Gerard Mulligan, Colin Farley; Declan Reilly, Kieran Brady, Noel Farrell (0-3, frees); Paul McKeon, Fergal Sheridan; Cormac Hughes, Rory Hawkins (0-1), Alan McKeon (0-1, free); Cathal McCabe (0-2), Cathal Reilly, Ciaran McKeon.

Sub:- Ruairi Harkin (0-1) for C McKeon (37 mins).

Referee: Donal Kane (Young Grattans).


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.