Cnoc Mhuire Granard win again as the Longford school march on in the Leinster Senior ‘B’ Football Championship

Top Oil North Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘B’ Football Championship Semi-Final

North Leinster Schools Senior 'B' Football Championship

Jordan Martin pictured in action for Cnoc Mhuire Granard.

A fine display from Cnoc Mhuire saw the Granard school advance to the North Leinster Post-Primary Senior ‘B’ Football Championship final with the comprehensive margin of ten points to spare over Ashbourne Community School at Higginstown on Tuesday. 

Cnoc Mhuire Granard . . 2-13     Ashbourne Community School . . 1-6

Played at the St Mary’s Granard grounds, Cnoc Mhuire (who led by 0-9 to 1-2 at half-time) dominated most of the game and were full value for their win with some excellent individual displays.

Eddie Smyth was rock solid at full-back, Ryan O’Reilly figured most prominently up front along with the superb Cian Madden who gave the Ashbourne defence a torrid time.

Gowna sharpshooter Madden fired over seven points and was unselfish for his side’s first goal with 11 minutes gone in the second half, laying the ball off to the scorer Cormac Reilly to put his side on the road to victory.

Cnoc Mhuire now meet Gallen Community School, Ferbane in the North Leinster title decider which is scheduled to be played at a neutral venue next week.

CNOC MHUIRE GRANARD: James Keogh; Sean Cadden, Eddie Smyth, Dylan Cassidy; Tom Meehan, PJ Masterson, Darren Sheils; Eoin Sheridan, Liam Wilson; Ryan O’Reilly (0-2), Jordan Martin (0-3, 3f), Jordan Shiels; Cormac O’Reilly (1-1), Dara Sheridan, Cian Madden (0-7,1f).

Subs:- Mark O’Neill for R O’Reilly (47 mins); R O’Reilly for E Sheridan (52 mins); Ronan Lynch for D Sheils (54 mins); Ryan Smyth (1-0) for J Martin (injured, 57 mins); Reece Reilly for C O’Reilly (60 mins).

ASHBOURNE COMMUNITY SCHOOL: Jack Murphy; Chris Twomey, David Smith, David Corry; Jack Byrne, Conor Harford, Nigel Hand; Joe Magee, Jack Roberts; Ben O’Brien, Conor Shanahan, Ciaran O’Sullivan; Darragh O’Sullivan, Jack O’Connor (0-5, 5f), Paddy Magill (1-1).

Subs:- Leo Corry for N Hand (45 mins), Diarmuid Moriarty for D O’Sullivan (55 mins).

Referee: Mick McAdden (Westmeath).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.