Longford school Cnoc Mhuire Granard advance a stage further in the Leinster Senior ‘B’ Championship

Top Oil North Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘B’ Football Championship Quarter-Final

leinster schools senior B football championsship

PJ Masterson pictured in action for Cnoc Mhuire Granard.

Cnoc Mhuire, Granard advanced a stage further in the Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘B’ Football Championship when they had six points to spare over St Joseph’s, Drogheda in the North Leinster quarter-final clash at Lynch Park, Abbeylara on Wednesday. 

Cnoc Mhuire Granard . . . 1-10      St Joseph’s Drogheda . . . 0-7

The Granard school had to wait six weeks to play this fixture with the North Leinster semi-final against Ashbourne Community School scheduled for Tuesday next (February 27) at a venue to be confirmed to determine who meets Gallen Community School, Ferbane in the title decider.  

Cnoc Mhuire were sluggish at times but were full value for their win with the crucial only goal coming from Ronan Lynch in the 13th minute and they ended up in a fairly comfortable 1-5 to 0-2 lead at the break. Having said that, manager James Carroll knows that his side will have to improve in the quest for championship glory.

CNOC MHUIRE GRANARD: James Coyle; Sean Cadden, Eddie Smyth, Dylan Cassidy; Tom Meehan, PJ Masterson, Darren Shiels; Eoin Sheridan, Ryan O’Reilly (0-2); Ronan Lynch (1-0), Jordan Martin, Jordan Shiels; Cormac O’Reilly (0-2), Dara Sheridan (0-2), Cian Madden (0-4, 2f)

Subs:- Evan Murphy for R Lynch (37 mins); Tiernan Madden for J Martin and Reece Reilly for D Sheridan (57 mins).

ST JOSEPH'S DROGHEDA: Niall McDonnell; Evin McConnon, David Lally, Ciaran McCann; Richard Clinton, Alan Connor, Marty Walsh; Shane Hickey (0-1), Nathan Sutherland; Daire Nally (0-1), Ryan Walsh (0-4, 3f), Thomas Clarke; Cathal Doherty, Rian Aikpitanyi, Conor Faulkner.

Subs:- Sean Healy for N Sutherland (black card, 18 mins); Eoghan Ryan for R Aikpitanyi (half-time); Cian Fitzpatrick (0-1, f) for C Doherty (injured, 39 mins).

Referee: Gerry Sheridan (Mullahoran).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.