22 Jan 2022

Longford Senior Football Championship: Slashers let victory slip as Killoe stage great comeback to earn a draw

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 1 - Round 2

Killoe Emmet Og v Longford Slashers SFC

Peter Lynn on the ball for Longford Slashers ahead of Killoe Emmet Og opponent Denis McGoldrick. Action from the Senior Football Championship Group 1 game at Monaduff. Photo: Declan Gilmore

Nine points behind (2-7 to 0-4) when Robbie Clarke scored a cracking goal for Longford Slashers in the 22nd minute of the first half, Killoe showed a lot of character in storming back to snatch a draw in this entertaining Senior Football Championship second round clash played at the Monaduff grounds, Drumlish on Sunday.

Killoe Emmet Og . . . 1-14  Longford Slashers . . . 2-11

Slashers looked like holding out for a surprise win when Colin Smith kicked over a glorious strike from play in the 57th minute to leave his side two points in front but Emmet Og refused to panic and late points from Daniel Mimnagh and Denis McGoldrick (a free in stoppage time) left the sides all square in the finish.

This result means that Killoe are through to the quarter-finals while Slashers will battle it out with Dromard to determine the remaining qualifier from Group 1.

KILLOE EMMET OG: Cillian Burns; Ryan Moffett, Cian Farrelly, Liam Hughes; Daniel Mimnagh (0-2), Padraig McCormack, Shane Clarke; Paddy Kiernan (0-1), Michael Quinn (0-1, ‘45); Denis McGoldrick (0-4, three frees), Mark Hughes, Paddy Hughes; Larry Moran (1-0, penalty), Sean McCormack (0-5, all frees), Seamus McCormack (0-1).

Subs:- Gary Connell for P Hughes (47 mins); Ciaran Donohoe for Seamus McCormack (52 mins).

LONGFORD SLASHERS: Colm Farrell (0-1, ‘45’); Darren Flaherty, Peter Brady, Shane O’Connell; Sean Clarke (1-2, goal from penalty), Dermot Brady, Peter Lynn; Andrew Dalton, Brian Walsh; Ruairi Clarke, Niall Mulligan (0-1), Paul Kelly; Robbie Clarke (1-0), Peter Foy (0-1), Colin Smith (0-6, four frees).

Subs:- Ronan Sheehan for P Brady (injured, half-time); Conor Clarke for Ruairi Clarke (53 mins); Niall Kelly for S Clarke (injured, 58 mins).

Referee: Michael Farrell (Ballymahon).

Full report and pictures in the Longford Leader, on sale on Wednesday

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.